Fall Anime Impressions 2010 & Fall Anime Blogging Plans

LATE POST IS HELLA LATE.

I do apologize for being so ridiculously late, but I’ve been trying to convince Beast to do his Fall impressions for the past month. He’s bailing on me, so you’ll just have to settle with my own impressions unless I can get someone else to throw their opinions in. ┐( ̄ー ̄)┌

I’ll be posting my blogging plans after the impressions, so just scroll down if that’s what you’re looking for.

Without further ado, let’s get the impressions going!

You can find the chart that has the upcoming Fall anime that I used to make these impressions, here.

Star Driver: Radiant Takuto

Riyoga: So when I first read that the mechas were being called “Cybuddy”, I was reluctant about this show. Then I saw the promo video for it and saw how FABULOUS it is. I’m watching for sure.

Approval Rating: 90%

Iron Man

Riyoga: Trying to gain a Japanese audience for Iron Man by making an anime? Makes sense to me. It’s probably the best medium to get superheroes across. I won’t be watching, though.

Approval Rating: 50%

Panty & Stocking With Garterbelt

Riyoga: The first thing that comes to mind when you look at the picture for this show is “Powerpuff Girls.” And you’re right. It does have the same animation style. However, this is what Powerpuff Girls would be if it was an R rated show. The director said he used this animation style so it would have a twisted cuteness to it while all kinds of horribly obscene things happen. It’s gonna be raunchy, and it’s gonna be awesome.

Approval Rating: 95%

Psychic Detective Yakumo

Riyoga: The synopsis sounds interesting, but at the same time it doesn’t really grip me at all. Maybe because it sounds too much like Angel Beats!. I’ll give it a shot, but eh, my expectations are low.

Approval Rating: 40%

Kuragehime

Riyoga: Obvious synopsis is obvious. She brings back a drag queen, and needs to then keep it a secret. $5 says she also falls in love with him at some point. Though I bet that’d lead to quite the confusion, considering he looks like a hawt chick.

Approval Rating: 20%

Bakuman

Riyoga: I wasn’t interested in this at first since it seemed too srs bsnss, but I’ve heard it can also be extremely funny when it wants to be, so I’ll give it a shot.

Approval Rating: 70%

Letter Bee Reverse

Riyoga: Eww, sequels. Next.

Approval Rating: 10%

Togainu No Chi

Riyoga: Sounds like it’ll be awesome, and it looks like the animation will be top-notch too. I’ve always found plots where characters play in some twisted “game” to be very enjoyable. Definitely looking forward to this. I’ve also heard that there are homo vibes in this show, so along with the game going on in the show, I’ll treat the show as a game that’s trying to turn me gay.

Approval Rating: 95%

Soredemo Machi Wa Mawatteiru

Riyoga: LolShaft. You guys always do the trippiest shows. I was only able to watch Dance in the Vampire Bund by you guys, and that was only after the blu-rays came out because your crappy video quality made me ragequit after two episodes. No thanks, if I wanted an LSD trip, I’d get it from somewhere else.

Approval Rating: 0%

Shinryaku! Ika Musume

Riyoga: At first this sounded like one of those boring shows where nothing happens (*cough* K-ON *cough*), but I’ve heard from people that the manga is absolutely hilarious, so it got me curious. I’ll give it a shot. Also, inb4: tenticle rape.

Approval Rating: 70%

Arakawa Under the Bridge x Bridge

Riyoga: It’s a sequel, AND a Shaft show. PASS.

Approval Rating: 5%

Hyakka Ryouran Samurai Girls

Riyoga: Sounds like a show where tits and swords are flying everywhere (a show Beast would like, probably). I probably normally would give this show a shot, but I’m already watching like 10+ other shows and this was on the bottom of the list.

Approval Rating: 40%

The World God Only Knows

Riyoga: Character design looks great, story sounds like it’ll make for some epic laughs, what more do you need to know? Looking forward to this show the most.

Approval Rating: 100%

Otome Youkai Zakuro

Riyoga: Sounds like a snore-fest. I’ve never really gotten into military type shows, and I’m not starting now.

Approval Rating: 20%

Yosuga No Sora

Riyoga: There’s only one thing you need to know about this show: it revolves around wincest. This isn’t that half-assed “OH GUESS WHAT? WE’RE NOT ACTUALLY BLOOD-RELATED LOLOLOLOL” bullshit they usually pull at the end, either. This is 100% genuine incest. I’ve always wondered why incest shows intrigue me so much. Maybe I’m curious to see what events or feelings it would take for two family members to reject publicly held morals and become something more (quite likely). Or maybe I’m just a huge troll (also extremely likely).

Approval Rating: 90%

To Aru Majutsu no Index II (A Certain Magical Index Season 2)

Riyoga: YESSS. A sequel I’m actually looking forward to! My main complaint with the first season was with the lackluster ending, so a second season is very welcome. Let’s just hope we don’t have a repeat of the first season ending-wise, eh?

Approval Rating: 95%

Sora no Otoshimono Forte

Riyoga: I always figured this series was the classic “harem comedy” that ends up sucking massively. I’ve seen some people say this series breaks that cliché though. But it doesn’t matter, because this is a sequel, so I won’t be watching it anyways.

Approval Rating: 20%

Hakuouki Shinsengumi Kitan – Season 2

Riyoga: Goddamn sequels, GTFO.

Approval Rating: 0%

Motto To LOVE-Ru

Riyoga: Allow me to be a hypocrite and say this is another sequel I’m looking forward to. I loved the first half of the first season. It followed the manga and was hysterical. The second half did it’s own thing and was really, really boring. Now that the manga has ended, I’m hoping they won’t have to resort to filler, and good ‘ole To LOVE-Ru will be back.

Approval Rating: 80%

Hetalia Axis Powers Fourth Season

Riyoga: Hetalia Axis Powers is awesome and you should all watch it. No arguments accepted. Also, Russia ftw.

Approval Rating: 100%

Ore no Imouto ga Konnani Kawaii Wake ga Nai (My Little Sister Can’t Be This Cute!)

Riyoga: YEAH MORE WINCEST. Actually this show isn’t about incest at all. It makes a crack about it a few times, since Kurino likes galge (read: PR0N) games with a little sister theme, and she IS a little sister, but that’s it. It’s actually a pretty good plot, dealing with what you like and your hobbies vs. what’s expected of you and what hobbies aren’t considered socially acceptable. It’s quite good.

Approval Rating: 90%

MM!

Riyoga: This is the comedy of the season, hands down. Seeing the lead male get the hell abused out of him is funny, but having him actually taking pleasure in it? This can only lead to awesome things.

Approval Rating: 90%

Fortune Arterial Red Promise

Riyoga: Apparently the game for this got really high scores, so I’ll probably watch this if a good group picks it up. A translation of the game is in progress though, and I’ll probably read that when it comes out.

Approval Rating: 60%

Tantei Opera Milky Holmes

Riyoga: …Just read that title. Twice if necessary.

Approval Rating: 5%

Super Robot Taisen OG: The Inspector (read: We’re running out of clever names for our Gundam ripoffs)

Riyoga: I think my title translation speaks for itself.

Approval Rating: 0%

Pokemon: Best Wishes!

Riyoga: I’m watching this. No, I’m not shitting you. I’m just watching it until Black & White get released stateside though. I’m just using this to familiarize myself with the new Pokemon. Though the intro for this season went in an interesting and quite enjoyable way.

Approval Rating: 85%

Battle Spirits: Brave

Riyoga: No.

Approval Rating: 0%

Karl to Fushigi na Tou

Riyoga: Kids’ show. No thanks.

Approval Rating: 10%

You Are Delicious

Riyoga: I actually saw the promo video for this movie, and it actually looks to be pretty good. It might actually be a tearfest.

Approval Rating: 65%

Rita et Machin

Riyoga: Boring.

Approval Rating: 0%

Robin with His 100 Friends

Riyoga: Wat.

Approval Rating: 5%



GOOD STUFF. Some of these seem more like first episode reviews rather than impressions because some shows have already started airing.
Anyways, onto my plans for Fall blogging.


Unless something major happens, my plans are to blog Star Driver and Togainu No Chi. If something DOES happen, I’ll bet 99.99% that I’ll be switching one of the shows with Ore no Imouto.

Anyways, Star Driver will be out tomorrow because I need to study for my Programming midterm tonight since it’s tomorrow morning (derp), and Togainu No Chi will be on Friday or Saturday (since ionno when subs will be out for it).

See ya then.



Leave a Reply

