osu!: A Rhythm Game for Your Computer

snap1

I actually wanted to write about Pokémon to celebrate Black and White coming out, but it got late and I couldn’t think of anything to write about so I reverted to my original idea, which was this.

Anyways, this won’t be long, because everyone in existence knows what a rhythm game is.

osu! is, as the title says, a rhythm game for your PC (an iPhone version is also available). I think I remember reading somewhere about it being inspired from some DS game, but I’m too lazy to look that up.

snap2

Here’s the main menu. osu! allows you to do a good amount of things, such as making your own maps, changing skins, adjusting mouse sensitivity, etc. I haven’t really looked at these other options enough to talk about them in-depth. I’m still a rookie.

So I’ll mainly just talk about the first option, Play. I haven’t done online stuff either, so this entire post is pretty much going to be nothing but gameplay.snap3

If I were to give the gameplay a one sentence review, I’d say, “There are circles, and you click them.” There’s more to it than that, obviously.

As you can see, there are circles that you can click. They’re numbered based on what order they’re supposed to get clicked, and they also appear in that same order. The bigger circles you see around them get closer as that beat in the song draws closer. It’s like a metronome of sorts.snap4

I hate these things. Spinners. Maybe I just suck at them, but they hurt my wrists.

As you can guess by the name, you have to spin your mouse in a circle while holding down the mouse button until the bar fills up. You can keep going for extra points, but lots of people like to be dicks and put notes right after these, so you’ll take like 5 years to find where your mouse is and miss the circle.snap5

There are more than just normal circles, though. As you can see, some of them have trails. These are usually used when the song has a sustained beat from an instrument or the such. You click the circle, but then continue holding down the button and follow a ball along the trail. Sometimes, the end will have a u-turn arrow on them, meaning the ball will rebound off of it and head back the other direction. This can happen multiple times.snap6

Along with numbers in the circles, there are also colors. These are mainly used when the speed of the song is fast. When you have quite a few circles appearing at once, batches of them will come in the same color. That way if you don’t have time to read the numbers of the next notes, you know which one is next if it has the same color as what you’ve been hitting at the time.snap7

As you may have guessed from the pictures, osu! is mainly packed with Japanese songs. These can be from anime, or just Asian artists/bands. There are others though; I have a Breaking Benjamin and Disturbed song on my game.snap8

Also, the background can be different for songs. Some people like to use wallpapers (such as previous images), and osu! even supports videos. This picture is from the second To Aru Majutsu no Index OP, which has the TV’s intro for it as the video background for the song. The video quality isn’t incredible, but it’s definitely watchable. Not that you really have time to watch the video while you’re playing, though.snap9

The end result page has various statistics, and a replay option, too. It’s useful to see where you screwed up (if you did), since the replay also records your mouse cursor.

 

That’s all I really have to say. The song has global leaderboards, and multiplayer and such, but I only really ever play single player for now, since I’m still training to get better.

The game itself comes with a tutorial song/video for you to play, which is quite helpful. I think it comes with a few other songs too, but I could be wrong.

You get new songs by signing up on the website, and then you have access to all the songs made/being made by users. If you’re picky about songs you want, you can download songs individually, or if you don’t really care, you can download them by the pack, which has all of the latest songs.

Songs are updated all the time, with around 10 at least a day. It goes through a process of people submitting the song, then users giving critiques, then it goes to mods for official approval, then it gets added to the main list. I think that’s the process, but I’m not positive.

Anyways, the game is really fun, and easy to just play in chunks. Every song always comes with multiple difficulties, so you can practice harder difficulties after you learn the beats of the song. I can guarantee that you will always do better on songs that you know, because this is a rhythm game, after all.

osu! official website

Leave a Reply

