Japan Earthquake and Tsunami – Anime and Manga Industry Members Update

PEOPLE FROM RANDOM SITES KEEP GETTING LINKED HERE, SO JUST TO CLARIFY, THIS IS NOT A COMPLETE LIST. JUST PEOPLE I AM PERSONALLY KEEPING TABS ON. IF YOU ASK ABOUT OTHERS, I CAN CHECK FOR YOU.

UPDATE: AT THIS POINT, IT’S SAFE TO ASSUME THAT EVERYONE IN THE INDUSTRY IS SAFE UNLESS OTHERWISE REPORTED. IF ANYONE ACTUALLY DOES GET REPORTED AS MISSING OR WHATEVER, I WILL UPDATE THIS POST.

There’s a news post on ANN that’s being constantly updated as industry members are reporting in to be safe. The list is mostly seiyuu (voice actors), but there are also other people on the list.

The message board for the news post has even more people, and is getting updated even more frequently.

News Article
Message Board for Article

However, some of my favorite voice actors are still not on the list. I’m going to use this page to keep information on them, and will update as their status gets confirmed.

Kugimiya Rie [Confirmed Safe]
Sayaka Ohara [Confirmed Safe]
Kobayashi Yuu [Confirmed Safe]
Daisuke Ono [Confirmed Safe]
Yuuki Aoi [Confirmed Safe]
Kawasumi Ayako [Confirmed Safe]
Kana Hanazawa [Confirmed Safe]
Yuki Kajiura [Confirmed Safe]
Yukari Tamura [Confirmed Safe]
Shinbou Akiyuki [Confirmed Safe]
Jun Mochizuki [Confirmed Safe]
Satoshi Taijiri (creator of Pokémon) [Confirmed Safe]
Jouji Nakata (George Nakata) [Confirmed Safe]
Okamoto Nobuhiko [Confirmed Safe]
Kanemoto Hisako [Confirmed Safe]
Mamoru Miyano [Confirmed Safe]
Wakaki Tamiki [Confirmed Safe]
Saito Chiwa [Confirmed Safe]
Ayane Sakura [Assumed Safe]
Yoshitaka Ushiki [Assumed Safe]

24 Comments on “Japan Earthquake and Tsunami – Anime and Manga Industry Members Update”

  1. M4he says:

    Yuuki Aoi reported on her blog that she’s safe: http://aoitown.com/cgi-local/aoiblog/diary.cgi?no=438

    • Riyoga says:

      Thanks for the update. Seems like almost everyone checked in while I was asleep.

      Everyone seems to have forgotten about Kanemoto Hisako, though. I’m having trouble finding anything on her.

  2. Elsena says:

    Is yukana safe? I can’t find her. Thanks.

  3. chii says:

    hi, any information regarding rie kugimiya?

    • Riyoga says:

      She’s been reported as safe on a few sites, but after some digging it turns out that there isn’t a solid source with confirmation yet.

      I put her back as ‘Missing’ for now, and I’ll probably update the second I hear anything. She’s #1 on my watch list.

  4. Riyoga says:

    If it were still shortly after the quake, I would change it. However, seeing as it has been over 48 hours, I feel like ‘Missing’ is a better choice at this point.

    Plus, I already mention ‘Missing’ isn’t the same as ‘Officially Missing.’

    But as an update, some people are saying they found confirmation on her being safe. I will update once I know this is true.

  5. Nur says:

    Any news on Hiro Mashima?

    • Riyoga says:

      Nothing officially, but there are unofficial reports that he is alive, but got injured. The extent of the injuries weren’t mentioned.

  6. Nur says:

    Thank you, I do hope he gets better if this is the case (:
    and good luck to the rest of Japan

  7. josh brown says:

    ok is all the voice actors for
    naruto
    bleach
    onepiece
    and reborn safe pls i g2 know its driving me insane
    but i do haft to say best wishes to the 1000′s of other japinese men wemon, and children that are missing and or diesceased

    • Riyoga says:

      That’s a LOT of people to check up on. The best I can do is basically let you know that I’m pretty sure the main actors were all reported as safe.

      It should also be mentioned (now that commotion is dying down a bit) that most voice actors live in Tokyo, and there were VERY few casualties there. The places most affected were rural areas. Not to mention most voice acting agencies at this point have confirmed everyone in their employment is fine.

      In other words, it’s safe to assume nobody in the industry was injured. The only reason I’m still watching this list is because these are the people I want 100% confirmation for, even though I’m sure they’re all fine.

  8. euge888 says:

    How about Masashi Kishimoto (creator Naruto) and Eichiro Oda (creator 1pc)?

    I pray for Japan’s safety.

    • Riyoga says:

      As I said before, at this point it’s safe to assume that everyone is safe unless otherwise reported so.

      But to answer your question, Eiichiro Oda confirmed he was fine, but Masashi Kishimoto has not. Like other people who haven’t reported in/are reporting in later than others, he’s probably checking up on his family and friends first.

  9. Vi says:

    Is Hiro Fujiwara safe?? :O

  10. EDgar13 says:

    Is Yutaka Aida safe?
    GUNSLINGER GIRL

    • Riyoga says:

      No official reports from her yet.

      And for the fourth time guys, assume everyone is safe unless otherwise reported so. The odds of there being any casualties in the industry is actually very minor, and it’s the civilians who should be worried about instead.

  11. Cuuu says:

    Ok here are the list of ppl I want to know if they’re safe:
    -Jun Fukuyama
    -Yui Makino
    -Miyu Irinio
    -Daisuke Namikawa
    -Romi Paku
    -Maaya Sakamoto
    -Junko Minagawa

    • Riyoga says:

      Do people not even read updates or comments anymore? If one more person asks for status updates on people, I’m locking the comments (I can do that, right?).

      To answer your question, everyone on your list has reported in. Furthermore, all but one of those people were on ANN’s list I have linked in the post. I put the links there for a reason, you know. It would have saved you a lot of time and possibly worrying.

  12. reiko says:

    what about:
    Megumi Takamoto
    Michiko Neya
    Ai Iwamura

    • Riyoga says:

      Comments are now locked because people don’t know how to read updates in gigantic bold letters or comments right above them.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 129 other followers