On Animation Consistency

I haven’t made a new post in a while, and I figured it was about time to do so.

Though I’m mainly making this post to move out of the “Oh god, Japan is screwed” mindset and into the “a terrible event happened to Japan, but they’ll get through this eventually, and with help” state of mind. Obviously you should keep donating if you can, but it’s time to move out of the dreary mindset and into a hopeful one.

Also, in case you haven’t heard, there’s a fan podcast starting on March 19 at 6:00pm EST and will run for 24 hours. It’s being done to raise donations for Japan, and quite a few important members of the American anime industry plan to appear for a while. You can find a full schedule of guests, here.

If you’ve been paying attention to my “Pokémon White Progress” on the side bar, you’ll see that I beat the main part of the story. This means I can now devote a good portion of my time to other things, now. Though I still have a lot of endgame stuff to do (haven’t even touched it yet).

Anyways, time to get onto the topic of this post. As the title says, it’s on animation consistency. I decided to make this after watching an episode of Fractale.

When it comes to anime, there are a lot of different art styles. That’s one of the biggest draws when it comes to anime, after all. Though I almost never have a show’s art affect how I grade it.

Getting to the point, I was watching Fractale episode 8 a while ago, and I noticed something that does irk me regarding art in shows: animation consistency.

Watch Nessa (the one in the air) closely.snap1

snap2

snap3

snap4

snap5

snap6

snap7

WOAH SHE DID A BARREL ROLL

Those pictures are only about four frames apart, at best.

Her movements don’t even seem physically possible! Well, I mean, she isn’t human, but that’s not the point. I get her practically floating in the air because of being pulled, since that’s a classic comedic move, but the barrel roll? That’s just animation screw-up.

A1 has actually been a pretty big offender when it comes to this kind of stuff recently. I have no idea why, since I know they’re capable of not screwing up like this from shows such as Kuroshitsuji and Kannagi.

Anyone remember the last episode of Togainu no Chi? I wish I didn’t, because that was an animation disaster. All of those random shots of buildings instead of what was actually going on during the fight… it was facepalmingly horrendous. The show had to cancel their individual volume releases because of how badly they screwed up animation-wise!

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not blaming the Play-Doh style animation they use a lot of the time, that’s their charm and unique style. What I’m upset about is all the blatant screw-ups such as what I showed above. Anyone see episode 9 yet? Oh god, their faces looked like they had gone through a woodchipper half the time. All lopsided and disproportionate…

A1 isn’t the only studio making blunders though, and I don’t think it’d be fair if I didn’t point them out.

snap8

OH GOD HIS FACE

8bit are still having a few problems with IS: Infinite Stratos animation-wise. Of course, these are usually pretty minor (though noticeable) blunders, and are pretty forgivable considering the sheer amount of CG they’re packing into the show.

snap9

WAT

Ah, DEEN. You guys may be the biggest offenders of all. Though I almost forgive them for this screw up in Umineko (that they didn’t even fix for the BD releases) since it brought one of the best discussions to the MyAnimeList forums ever:

“What the hell is with the QUALITY, DEEN? Why did you make Genji invisible?!”
“Are you implying that Genji doesn’t have a cloaking device?”

Many lulz were had.

 

Oh, and we can’t forget about SHAFT. Though given the fact that SHAFT finished almost every show just a few hours before airing time, it’s not too surprising. They’ve almost copyrighted the practice of dicking with animation. Meduka Meguca, anyone?

Though, of course, taking random frames and using 4x zoom is kinda cheating. It’s still pretty funny, though.

 

On the other hand, we have shows and studios that remain very consistent animation-wise. Or, at least enough that nobody really notices much.snap10

Gosick has done a very good job of it so far, but that’s really to be expected. Bones always takes very good care of their shows.snap11A lot of people hated Onii-chan no Koto Blah Blah Blah right from the get-go do to its art. This was a pretty unfair judgement that I already addressed in my preview for the show.

Anyways, despite the unique art style, the show has managed to stay very consistent. The only real strange moments animation-wise are ones done on purpose for comedic effect.

 

But yeah. That’s my post. I don’t understand why some shows manage to have inconsistent animation. You’d think that before submitting it to TV stations, the studio would go over it to check for this kind of thing, especially considering how seriously the Japanese take work.

So what was the point of this post? I don’t know, actually. Guess I just decided I needed to rant after seeing that episode of Fractale. Well, anyways, if you guys have any opinions on this kinda thing, feel free to comment.

4 Comments on “On Animation Consistency”

  1. Toonleap says:

    The only real strange moments animation-wise are ones done on purpose for comedic effect.

    I can imagine an animator talking to another: Lets drink some sake, go with lots of women and if something happens during the animation, lets use the “comedic effect” as an excuse!

    LOL

    Good article by the way. Animation “in” consistency will be always there. It is done by humans and We are not perfect. :) but glad to know some are doing their best while others…well, you mentioned them.

    • Riyoga says:

      Something tells me staff of anime studios don’t really go out with lots of women. :P

      Very true, it’s not like I expect perfection. Sometimes it just seems like the studio doesn’t even care, though. Especially when they don’t even bother to fix things up for disc releases.

    • MkMiku says:

      With so many frames, it’s hard not to be inconstant. But, most of the time studios are pretty good about keeping the animation to a decent level. There are a few exceptions though, like DEEN and Nomad. xd

      • Riyoga says:

        Yeah, I agree. Like I said, I don’t seek perfection, but if their errors are blatantly obvious, I’m gonna call them out on it.

        DEEN is actually capable of good animation (Unlimited Blade Works was awesome), it’s just blatantly obvious when they do a show and don’t allocate enough of a budget for it.


Leave a Reply

