Spring 2011 Impressions

springChart

I think I’m the last person in the anime blogging community to do this. That’s how lazy awesome I am.

Anyways, lets get straight to it.

NOTE: The chart I used, courtesy of The Cart Driver. It’s the picture I used above.

 

Everyday Life

A KyoAni show the first on the list? Well, I won’t be watching. I developed a deep loathing for KyoAni quite a while a ago. GUYS, CLANNAD WAS TERRIBLE. Actually, that’s not entirely true, Sunohara made the show worth watching. The romance was boring and dumb, though. Everyone knows he should have picked Tomoyo.

 

Sket Dance

The synopsis for this doesn’t seem too bad, but I’m already planning on watching so many shows, it’s not on my priority list. If a lot of people praise the first episode, though, I’ll pick it up.

 

C: The Money of Soul and Possibility Control

noitaminA shows are almost always guaranteed to be good. Not to mention, the scriptwriter is the same guy who did the anime adaptation of Baccano! and Durarara! Shit’s gonna be good. Here’s a teaser, as a bonus.

 

Gintama’

Haven’t watched the first season, so I won’t be watching this.

 

Deadman Wonderland

This is one of the shows I’m looking the most forward to. A dark and violent show taking place in a prison/amusement park for spectators to enjoy? Sounds like Gladiator, and anyone who isn’t an idiot fucking loves Gladiator. This show will probably be like The World God Only Knows to me, meaning I’ll start reading the manga after the show ends.

 

Electromagnetic Wave Woman & Adolescent Man

Another show on my low priority list. SHAFT is usually hit or miss with me, I either love the show or hate it. For example, Madoka Magica is awesome, but Natsu no Arashi! bored the hell out of me. I’ll wait for the first episode to come out and see people’s opinions before deciding to pick it up or not.

 

Steins;Gate

A lot of people gave Chaos;Head shit when it came out, but I actually thought the show was really enjoyable. Since this show is a spiritual sequel, I’m going to watch it. I’ve also heard from VN readers that Steins;Gate is better than Chaos;Head, so I’m excited.

 

Tea for Universe, Tea for Life

I didn’t understand half the words in that synopsis. This doesn’t really seem like a show that foreign audiences will enjoy.

 

You’re Being Summoned, Azazel-san

I’m conflicted with this one. The detective part of the synopsis intrigues me, not to mention that Production I.G. are doing the show, but everything else in the show sounds boring. I’ll wait for the first episode to come out.

 

Moshidora

I’ve never really been into sports anime, though this seems to focus less on the sport and more on the “rallying.” Is that a real book she’s reading? I’d laugh pretty hard if this just turned out to be an advertisement for it. Actually, if that turned out to be true, I’d watch the show for the laughs.

 

Ano Hana

The other noitaminA show for the season. I’m actually on the fence for this one. It seems like the show could fall either way on the spectrum. I’ll wait for a few episodes to air before deciding on this one.

 

Appleseed XIII

Apparently there’s a lot of Appleseed shows and movies or something. I’ve never watched any of them though, so this doesn’t really entice me. Unless it’s something I don’t have to watch previous versions of in order to enjoy it. But how am I supposed to know if it’s like that?

 

Showa Story

The synopsis says it’s aimed at seniors, and last I checked, I wasn’t one. Skip.

 

Kaiji Season 2

Haven’t seen the first season, though I’ve heard it’s really good. Maybe I’ll watch these someday.

 

Ao no Exorcist

I used the Japanese title because I hardly ever see people using “Blue Exorcist.” Anyways, this show looks pretty awesome, though I’ve heard from people only a few chapters of the manga have come out. If they have to go anime-original, hopefully it doesn’t suck.

 

Toriko

I’m considering watching the One Piece collaboration episode, just because, but otherwise I probably won’t watch this. Mainly because Toei is doing it, so odds are it’ll be over 9000 episodes.

 

Tiger & Bunny

It’s about some mecha superhero people, and Sunrise is animating it. Sign me up.

 

The World God Only Knows 2

HELL YES. This is definitely the show I’m looking forward to the most this season. I saw the manga announcement saying which captures will happen this season, so I’m excited. It’s a bit of a shame it’ll stop just a few arcs short of reaching the REAL plot of the show, and by the looks of sales, it won’t go for another season. Though fans of the series really like Haqua, so hopsefully that’ll boost sales.

 

Hanasaku Iroha

Something about a female teenager working at a hot spring? Sounds like it’ll be a lame ecchi show. However, I’ll keep my eyes on it, and if it turns out that isn’t the case, I’ll pick it up.

 

Maria Holic Alive

I couldn’t even finish the first episode of the first season. I don’t know what it is, but this show just doesn’t appeal to me.

 

Fireball Charming

I’m watching the first season sometime this week. Each episode is a few minutes long, at best, and I’ve heard it can actually be pretty interesting. Seeing how short each episode is, I have no problem giving this a shot. Plus, all of the CG looks very good.

 

Sofuteni

Sounds like an ecchi version of Prince of Tennis. HOW DARE THEY. Skip.

 

Aria the Scarlet Ammo

Another show I’m very much looking forward to. I watched the first two trailers out for it, and I got hyped as hell for it. Recently, I have also seen it described as “Shakugan no Shana with guns.” For those of you who don’t know, I fucking love Shakugan no Shana to death. This’ll probably be a season favorite for me.

 

A Channel

A channel about what? (Hurr, I’m funny) This show doesn’t give enough information about itself for me to make a decision. I’ll keep my eyes peeled for people’s opinions on the first few episodes.

 

Lotte no Omocha

Oh god, this show. At first I was planning to watch it for shits and giggles, but recently someone said it’s like Baka Test, and I fucking loved Baka Test, so sign me up.

 

Under the Innocent Sky

Yes, I’m being inconsistent with my choice of title name, but I’m going in order of the chart so who cares. Anyways, after Fortune Arterial, I don’t really feel like watching a VN adaptation that revolves around girls in fancy school outfits.

 

Hen Zemi

This sounds like an even more insane version of MM!, since it seems to deal with fetishes and all. I’ll be watching this.

 

Health & Physical Education for 30 year-olds

BEST SHOW THIS SEASON. No, it probably won’t be, but I’m going to watch it for shits and giggles, if this even gets subbed.

 

Dog Days

From the guy who did Nanoha. I’ve never watched Nanoha (please don’t kill me, I plan to watch all three seasons soon!), but I’ve heard enough good things about it that this show should also be pretty good. Hopefully it doesn’t disappoint.

 

Tono to Issho Season 2

Haven’t seen the first season, so I don’t care.

 

Dororon Enma-kun

Looks… not very exciting. I’ll keep an eye on it, though. Just in case.

 

Sengoku Otome

Sup, Inuyasha. This show sounds boring. Next.

 

A Bridge to the Starry Skies

Most original synopsis this season, amirite? No. No I’m not. Next.

 

X-Men

Please rape my childhood some other time, please.

 

Worlds First Love

Lets cut to the chase: only girls and gay guys are going to like this show. That’s just how these work. Next.

 

Qwaser Of Stigmata II

Okay, I’m going to say something UNIMAGINABLE, so brace yourselves, and possibly get another pair of underwear ready.
Qwaser of Stigmata is not a bad show. THERE, I SAID IT. Honestly, if you can look past the whole boob-sucking thing, the show is actually pretty interesting and takes the same kind of interesting spin on science that the To Aru Majutsu no Index universe does. I’ll watch this once Doki finishes the BDs for the first season. …And once the BDs are done for this season, probably. Everyone knows it’s going to be censored up the ass.

 

EVERYTHING ELSE

No.

 

 

Also, I refuse to talk about the OVAs because I already typed too much. Why are so many shows airing this season? And why am I watching a crapload of them again? I think I’m masochistic.

By the way, you guys probably know more about a lot of these shows than I do, so if you wanna inform me how I’m wrong about a certain show, or want to rant at me for hating on a series you like, go right ahead.

4 Comments on “Spring 2011 Impressions”

  1. TRazor says:

    Interesting choices…almost the exact opposite of mine. But from all the previews I’ve read, I reckon the noitaminA programs are the most picked and will probably be the most blogged about.

    But really, God Only Knows over Clannad? That’s… odd. But hey, to each his own, right?

    • Riyoga says:

      Well, as my slogan says, I don’t usually have very high standards. I just try to enjoy what I can. Except for the shows I watch for the laughs.

      The problem I had with Clannad was that it was… well, boring. My biggest problems were: 1) it was way too much like a VN. Go here, activate conversation, activate event, etc. 2) I hated Nagisa. She was worthless and did nothing. Her parents were awesome, but the sudden “OH I GUESS I LOVE YOU NAGISA” made me roll my eyes. Like I said, Clannad did great humor, but he should have ended up with Tomoyo. She’s the only one I felt had any real character to her.

      For God Only Knows, being a huge gamer personally, I immediately felt a connection with Keima. But the big appeal behind the series is first finding out what depressing event or quality holding a character back from what they want is, and then seeing just how Keima is going to fix it. Well, at least for me. I mainly like seeing the various personalities. And honestly? Each arc is better than the last IMO.
      And as I mentioned, there’s actually an overarching story that’s still moving behind the scenes at this point. There’s a lot more going on than most people expect, though unless Manglobe has fun with the order of things, it won’t do more than hint at it this season.

      Sorry for the wall-o-text, but yeah, it ultimately comes down to personal taste. Everyone enjoys what they personally find enjoyable. That’s something that’ll never change.

      • TRazor says:

        “I have to enjoy what I can”

        Especially true for the recent lackluster seasons. With 40+ anime releasing this spring, hardly 5 will be worthwhile.

        But sometimes, you never know :)

        What’s your take on Clannad: After story?

        • Riyoga says:

          I always try to watch shows I even have a vague interest in, because you can never predict those sleeper-hits. Though sometimes that comes back to bite you in the ass *cough*Rio: Rainbow Gate*cough*.
          I’m going to have too much fun with my review of that show on Tuesday.

          I didn’t watch Clannad: After Story, because I didn’t like Clannad. I heard it’s supposed to be a tearfest, but during the episode of Clannad I heard was supposed to do the same thing, I fell asleep. Not really a good sign.
          I did watch Tomoyo Chapter, though, and I liked it much more than Clannad. As I said, Tomoyo was the only one I felt had any real character, so I actually cared for the bit of drama that happened, and the romance.


Leave a Reply

