The Conflict of Voices

Well, well… seems like the time for reviews of the season’s shows are almost upon us. This will most likely be my last post before those start up, and unless groups don’t release when they usually do, it looks like Onii-chan no Koto Blah Blah Blah will be first up sometime today. Otherwise, Rio: Rainbow Gate! will be up early Tuesday, my review of which I’m hyping far too much.

I figured I should end these random posts with one more, about a recent discovery I’ve made about myself (well, sort of about myself). Though honestly, this is going to be more of a random rant/monologue than anything, so if you don’t want to read a guy type to himself (I’m bringing talking to yourself into the 21st century, baby!), then I suggest not bothering to read this.

Though this post shouldn’t be too long.

Similar to glothelegend, I also have an attachment with the voice actor Rie Kugimiya.snap1

She’s voiced a lot of my favorite characters, but there’s only one character that matters for this post, and that’s my waifu, Shana.

snap2

Also a nice wallpaper!

Through my watching of Shakugan no Shana, I not only bonded with the character of Shana, but the voice actor for her. Shana became my waifu, and Rie Kugimiya became my favorite voice actor. All was right with the world.

Until recently.

You see, cracks have started to form in this little world of mine. I always figured everything would stay the same, no matter what. Nothing could match the perfection that was Shana and Rie Kugimiya.

What do I mean by all of this? Well, to put it in a more understandable way…

A Challenger Approaches!snap3

This, is Kana Hanazawa. Now, I’ve known about her since Kobato, I believe. She voiced Kobato. However, at the time, all I knew was that I liked her voice, and that she needed work on her high notes.

What I didn’t realize, is that she actually voices many characters that I like. Recently, she’s pulled a Rie Kugimiya in that every role she’s doing is amazing.

To name a couple:

snap4

Nessa from Fractale

snap5

Kuroneko from Ore no Imouto

She has done more, but these were the first that came to mind when thinking of recent shows. Both of these roles are really good characters. Through them, just like with Rie Kugimiya, I feel like I’m from a connection with Kana Hanazawa.

Not that this is really a bad thing, I have a lot of voice actors I really like. They would still never measure up to Rie Kugimiya, who gave me Shana, my waifu.

Or so I thought.

snap6

Charles/Charlotte/France from IS: Infinite Stratos

That’s right, a character powerful enough to rival Shana for waifu status. I never thought the day would come, but it has. I’ve been denying it ever since Charlotte took the spotlight in the show, but I now can’t deny just how great of a character she is.

I’m torn.

On the one hand, I consider myself to be very loyal, and don’t want to abandon Shana and Rie Kugimiya. But on the other hand, I can’t deny Kana Hanazawa’s rising popularity with me and the sheer attractive power behind Charlotte. They’re practically on even ground right now.

It also doesn’t help that Shana and Shakugan no Shana was one of the biggest driving forces behind me actually getting into anime. It was the first show I genuinely enjoyed, and without it, I doubt I’d be as engrossed in the anime world as I am now.

But things come and go. Change is always rampant. Should I just abandon my loyalty and switch allegiances? I honestly don’t know. Both Rie Kugimiya and Kana Hanazawa are on even ground for me, and I’m at a loss. I can’t just pick both (polygamy, while awesome, is cheating, guys). I either have to remain with my old loyalties, or make new ones.

But then what’s stopping this from happening again? Nothing.

This is a tough decision, and one I don’t know if I’ll be able to decide on my own.

 

Have you read through this whole post and feel for my plight or have you suffered the same fate as I at some point? Then offer words of wisdom to me on what I should so in this dark time, or share your stories.

Just have an opinion on the characters or Rie Kugimiya and Kana Hanazawa? I’ll lend my ears to what you have to say.

Feel like telling me I’m an idiot for caring so much about something so stupid? Feel free to do that too.

 

P.S. I pretty much bit my index finger’s nail off, so it hurt to type all of this. Okay I didn’t really bite the whole thing off, but I bite my nails in general. I really need to stop doing that. It’s a bad habit, and I need my fingers to type and play video games. How the hell am I supposed to get through college if I can’t do either of those things? It’s unthinkable.

4 Comments on “The Conflict of Voices”

  1. Nadja says:

    Maybe make a harem instead? xD

  2. iapprove says:

    ok, firstly YOU HAVE BRILLIANT WAIFU TASTE (quite frankly the top spot for me has been taken by Akane Mishima for 2 years and that wont change anytime soon, however i have a list of places for waifu. it changes rapidly but Akane is always at the top. Shana and Charlotte are both on my list).
    secondly, your choices of anime brilliant.
    thirdly, i been through this too… however after a re watch of kampfer i ascertained that Akane was still my waifu. the runner up being Miharu Mikuni from Kissxsis. a manga i only read on a whim as i saw it on the popular manga list.
    fourthly i just realized i wrote a whole paragraph without saying anything. hate it when that happens.

    • Riyoga says:

      1) Thank ya.
      2) IS: Infinite Stratos was actually pretty shit. Charlotte was the only reason it got about a million bonus points in scoring.
      Shakugan no Shana is the best series ever created, though.
      3) Not bad choices either, though the plot for Kampfer was terribad.
      4) Rambling is awesome. You just rambled. Therefore you are awesome.


Leave a Reply

