Review: To Aru Majutsu no Index II

snap1

Anime: To Aru Majutsu no Index II
Animation Studio: J.C. Staff
Number of Episodes: 24
Length per Episode: Approximately 24 minutes

This’ll probably be a short review for once. Though, of course, now that I say that, it’ll probably wind up being just as long as usual.

Anyways, I have Rio to do after this, which is a review I’m surprisingly looking forward to, so lets get straight to it.


I’m not going to bother explaining the plot, because this is a sequel. You shouldn’t really be watching this unless you’ve seen the first season.

Well, actually, that’s not entirely the reason. Index doesn’t really have any overarching plot, besides Magic versus Science. Near the end, a plot seems to be forming, but then it ends before it can really go anywhere.

I guess that sort of means every plot line along the way has been building up to this moment, but they’re told in a very disjointed way.

If I were to sum up my opinion of this season, it’d look a bit like this:snap2

A little overwhelming, and a bit frustrating, basically. Index is certainly fun to watch, but it just ultimately feels like it’s for nothing. As I said before, the end feels like a legitimate plot is forming, but it ends before anything significant happens.

But yeah, the action scenes are always enjoyable to watch.

snap3

Come on, I couldn't have been the only one to laugh at "EXTENDING CROSS ATTACK!"

I kid, I kid, the action scenes are awesome. It’s just that that was the first fight I randomly came across when looking for pictures.

Though speaking of laughing, that’s another good thing about Index. All of its characters are unique and interesting, so it’s easy for them to pull off comedy with the show.snap4

That episode was hilarious.

Overall, the second season of Index wasn’t bad, but I guess I could say it was disappointing. The only fault I had with the first season was that its plot it had at the beginning fell off the face of the earth.

The second season was the same, with no real overarching plot. It wound up to be more of the same. Fun to watch, but no real substance. But now I guess the third season is what we should all wait for eagerly, now that one IS forming. There’s no doubt there’ll be a third season, this show sells insanely well. It’s why J.C. Staff could afford to end the show at such a random point.

 

By the way, do you guys remember when Index was actually relevant to the plot?

Neither do I.

RATING: 8 out of 10.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.



Leave a Reply

