Seasonal Awards – Winter 2010/2011

I’ve been waiting for the Winter shows to end for a while now, because I’ve been looking forward to doing this post. Now, most bloggers I’ve seen do yearly and/or decade reviews for shows, but my attention span can’t wait for that long. Everyone wants to know what shows to watch what season, or to see shows they hate get ripped into right away, rather than wait for a year.

I’m actually going to make a new page after this that’ll explain my format for this in more detail, but due to this being the first time I’m doing this, I’ll give a quick overview of important points before starting.

The only shows that are eligible to win anything must have aired during this season. That means it either started this season, or continued into this season from the last one. There are restrictions on shows that do that, though. The best way to explain would be through an example.

For instance, Gosick is eligible for these awards, but only the first half or so of the show that has aired, since it’s still ongoing. Basically, it is unable to win awards that are for the show overall (such as Best Show, Worst Show, etc.). On the other hand, Star Driver, which aired its second half this season, is eligible for awards for any of its episodes, and the show overall. Gosick will be eligible to win awards for the show overall next season. So basically, if a show aired during the season, all the episodes that have aired for it are eligible, and if it finished, the entire show is also eligible.

Also, while I will have general categories such as best and worst show that will carry over into every season, I’m allowed to make up awards on the spot if I feel like a show deserves something special. The award could be for something good or bad. I won’t guarantee these awards will carry into next season due to them mainly being made for specific shows, but if I feel any shows next season also fit the criteria, I will use it again.

I think that’s good enough of an overview. I’ll go into more detail when I make the page that explains the details for these awards later today.

 

BEST OP SONG/VIDEO

 

This award is pretty self-explanatory. A show can win this for the song, video, or a combination of both. I don’t like making separate song and video categories because a lot of the time shows will win this award for a combination of both.

And the winner is…

GOSICK

I’m not sure if Gosick will change their OP for the second half, but I hope they don’t. While it’s hard for me to give reasons as to liking the song other than personal taste, I like how well it matches up with the video. Not to mention for the video itself, I really like the ‘storybook’ kind of art style they used.

Runner-ups:
To Aru Majutsu no Index OP1 (Great high-tempo song and fast-paced video to kick off the new season of Index)
Star Driver OP2 (While I like the first OP song more, I like the second OP video a LOT more than the first one)

 

WORST OP SONG/VIDEO

 

This award is pretty self-explanatory. A show can win this for the song, video, or a combination of both. I don’t like making separate song and video categories because a lot of the time shows will win this award for a combination of both.

And the winner is…

HOUROU MUSUKO

While I enjoyed the show itself, the OP is a completely different story. The singers voice is like a cheese grater on my ears, and the video, while it also has the beautiful art style the show itself has, is completely devoid of anything interesting. I mean, random shots of the school? An OP doesn’t need big, flashy animation, but it needs to be interesting. Oh, and off topic, but the top two comments for the video on Youtube made me laugh pretty hard (one is a response to the other).

Runner-ups:
Rio: Rainbow Gate! OP (Generic song is generic)

 

BEST ED SONG/VIDEO

 

This award is pretty self-explanatory. A show can win this for the song, video, or a combination of both. I don’t like making separate song and video categories because a lot of the time shows will win this award for a combination of both.

And the winner is…

HOUROU MUSUKO

Where the OP failed, the ED shines. The singer is practically the opposite of the one who sang the OP. It’s a woman, and she has a very beautiful voice. She’s also good at the few English bits in the song. This ED is also a perfect example of what I meant by not needing flashy animation. It just features Nitorin, the main character, walking. Sakura petals also pop up and rain down up at one point, and Nitorin has a little more fun with his stroll over time, all the while pondering about who knows what. The song matches up with the few events that happen in the ED, and Nitorin’s actions help set the mood perfectly.

Runner-ups:
Gosick ED1 (The mood of the song fits the video perfectly with the melancholic tone. The video also makes great use of dark shades before finally having a picture flow into color)
Star Driver ED1 (While I like both EDs, I prefer the first one. Even though it’s just the trio hanging out and goofing around, the song fits nicely, and it sets a great mood)

 

WORST ED SONG/VIDEO

 

This award is pretty self-explanatory. A show can win this for the song, video, or a combination of both. I don’t like making separate song and video categories because a lot of the time shows will win this award for a combination of both.

And the winner is…

RIO: RAINBOW GATE!

It’s a shame this song is so horrendously terrible, because the same artist/group also did Ika Musume’s OP, which I loved. I guess the only real annoying part is the beginning (EECH NEE SAN JEE, EECH NEE SAN JEE), but the video is terrible. It doesn’t even try to hide the fact it’s pretty much used entirely for more fanservice.

Runner-ups:
There actually aren’t any.

 

MOST DISAPPOINTING SHOW

 

Again, a pretty self-explanatory title. This award can actually be given to a show for being overall disappointing, or just having an extremely disappointing moment or two.

And the winner is…

snap1

YUMEKUI MERRY

This show turned into a complete and utter disaster in the last episode. From having nearly every character do an asspull, to Mistilteinn having inconsistent invulnerability, it was a writing disaster. Not to mention it had the same build up with John Doe that the manga did, but without the same badass payoff. And finally, at the very end, it ended like the script had just run out or something.

Runner-ups:
Rio: Rainbow Gate! (This was originally going to win, but then I remembered I had no expectations to begin with)
To aru Majutsu no Index (Plot fucking where?)

 

WORST SHOW

 

Do I have any ambiguous award titles? I’m not even going to bother explaining this one.

And the winner is… snap2

RIO: RAINBOW GATE!

I don’t really need to explain why this show won, right? Inconsistencies, overall boring, illogical characters, this show was absolutely terrible.

Runner-ups:
Fractale (How do I stay on-topic, guys?)

 

BEST SHOW

 

No use for an explanation, obviously.

And the winner is… snap3

STAR DRIVER

While Star Driver did admittedly move at a snail’s pace around the beginning, all of the subtle and not-so-subtle character and plot developments led to an absolutely incredible finale. I said in my review of the show that I only thought the finale bordered on “good.” I’ve been thinking since then, and I’ve changed my mind about it: the ending was fantastic. A lot of people complain that it didn’t really have any closure, but I’d argue that isn’t the case. I feel like the characters were built enough to the point where you can just use your imagination for the epilogue. Star Driver already involves a ton of reading between the lines, so thinking for yourself isn’t that far out there.

Runner-ups:
Onii-chan no Koto nanka Zenzen Suki Janain Dakara ne!! (Screw you guys, the A.G.E. Explorers were the funniest bunch in a LONG time)
Hourou Musuko (Not exactly unexpected, since this is a noitaminA show. It had some great characters)

 

TROLL AWARD

snap4

 

This is a very prestigious award, and not just because it’s the only one I have a picture for. This award is completely subjective: I can award it for a good reason, or a bad one. While the basis is always trolling, there’s a difference between annoying trolling and respectable trolling. So basically, you never know who could get this award.

And the winner is… snap5

HAIYORU! NYARUANI: REMEMBER MY LOVE(CRAFT-SENSEI)

In moves that managed to barely scrape along to avoid having the show win the Most Disappointing Show award, they guys at DLE managed to snag this award instead. First, when everyone saw the announcement for this to get a TV version, everyone expected it to advance past what the OVA had and get some actual animation. All they actually did was enhance the flash animation a bit. And then at the end, when they used some absolutely gorgeous CG, everyone expected a huge, climactic finale. Instead, what we got was an episode that took almost entirely in a hallway. If that’s not trolling, I don’t know what is. Stay classy, DLE. Oh, and on the DVD episode that was essentially number 12? They added a humorous spin to what actually happened when that giant Lego block hit the planet. That wasn’t trolling per say, but just thought I’d add that.

Runner-ups:
Mahou Shoujo Madoka Magica (This was originally going to win for the last two episodes being delayed, but it turns out it’s not actually SHAFT’s fault, the TV stations are refusing to air the episodes)
Star Driver (Head used nearly every character in the cast to get what he wanted, then threw them aside when he was done. MASTER TROLLING)
Rio: Rainbow Gate! (Season 2 teaser? Hahaha, you actually think you guys are going to get another season? That’s funny)

 

 

And thus ends the first seasonal awards! There will probably be more awards next time, I just didn’t do as many as I wanted due to being very busy today. In fact, I still have an assignment I haven’t started. So I guess I should go and do that now.

6 Comments on “Seasonal Awards – Winter 2010/2011”

  1. TRazor says:

    If there were an award for “Most Mediocre Anime” or “High Expectations, Low Performance”, it would go for Fractale.

    Best character goes to Charollette of IS, purely for being a cute and memorable character – a very, very rare sight in harem anime.

    • Riyoga says:

      “High Expectations, Low Performance” fits along the lines of “Most Disappointing,” but Yumekui Merry still wins. Fractale never got my expectations up, which is why it got runner-up in “Worst Show” instead.

      I actually thought of “Best Character” right after writing the post. I was conflicted on whether to give it to Charlotte or the A.G.E. Explorers. Charlotte is love, but the A.G.E. Explorers are hilarious.

  2. baka_girl says:

    Agree with most of your choice ^^
    Seems like Rio: Rainbow Gate get lots of ‘worst….’ lol
    Good thing I didn’t watch it :p

    • Riyoga says:

      Yeah, Rio is the worst show I’ve watched in a long time. I need to modify one of those “Friends don’t let friends drive drunk” pictures to say “Friends don’t let friends watch Rio: Rainbow Gate!”

  3. Nadja says:

    Thanks for the effort put into this; I’ll have to check some of the better shows out like Star Driver. :)

    • Riyoga says:

      As long as you can handle the slower pace due to the subtle developments, and the general level of campiness that comes from the guys who also did Ouran High School Host Club, Star Driver is a great watch. It’s all about the buildup to the finale, though. I think they said they spent like 60% of their budget on the last episode? Shit was intense.


Leave a Reply

