Preview: Steins;Gate

snap1

Alright, time to pump out as many of these previews as I can today. I’ll probably keep going until around 10:00 or 10:30, so don’t expect any after that. I need sleep for once.

Also, while I said I’d do all of the shows, I might run out of time. However, the far more likely case is that I won’t be able to write a preview after I watch the first episode for a show. I only write previews after I have a definite opinion on them, or until three episodes have aired, and I haven’t even watched the first episode for a lot of the shows I’ve listed. Though I will promise at least three previews, Steins;Gate being one of them.

Steins;Gate mainly focuses around the main character, Rintarou Okabe, also known as Okarin. He has a nice little… erm, club? Group? I’m not actually sure how to describe it. He probably said what it was in the show, but I can’t remember. Anyways, in this group are the “hacka” Hashida Itaru (who reminds me a hell of a lot of Kouta Hirano from Highschool of the Dead, without the insane gun-toting abilities), and Shiina Mayuri, who gave Rintarou the nickanme Okarin.

But, getting back to Okarin, the guy’s a little nuts. It’s actually a bit hard to tell what he is, because he’s not actually psycho, but just pretends to be. The dude talks into his phone when it isn’t even on.snap2

When confronted about the phone not being on, he quite visibly hesitated and cringed. So maybe he just wants people to think he’s nuts because he likes the idea of being a mad scientist. I wouldn’t put it past him, given his personality.

Anyways, the main meat of the story comes around the middle, when Okarin finds Kurisu Makise, the girl who confronted him about the whole phone thing literally moments ago, dead.

snap3

And not a pretty death, either.

He’s quite visibly phased by this (who wouldn’t be?), and as he’s leaving the building, he prepares to send a text to Hashida, telling him about her being killed. I’m not sure why he’s telling Hashida of all people, but then again Okarin probably doesn’t have many friends, if any besides him and Mayuri.

Right after he sends the text, shit goes bonkers.snap4

snap5

For a minute, nobody else is on the street, or anywhere in sight. After wandering around a bit trying to find someone, he bumps into Mayuri. Then, slowly, other people start to appear too, as if he were just imagining being alone.

Fast-forward to the end of the episode, Okarin asks Hashida about the text he sent while they’re in an elevator, and Hashida says that he got the text a week ago. Okarin checks his phone in comparison, and the sent date is still the current day. Basically, he sent a text into the past.

Upon realizing this, the elevator doors open, and who’s standing in the distance?snap6

 

 

I haven’t personally read the VN for Steins;Gate, so I can’t comment on anything based off of it, but I liked the pacing in the episode. I liked pretty much all the characters, especially our nut of a main character.

I also liked the pacing. It seemed kind of fast, but at the same time, it felt like the right speed to go at.

One thing I actually noticed was lack of background music. For a good chunk of the episode, there’ s no BGM at all. This isn’t a bad thing, as it actually managed to help set the mood even better. Do you know when you’re most uncomfortable/nervous during a horror movie? When no music is playing. The lack of sound actually amplifies the creeping feeling that something isn’t quite right. Steins;Gate uses this effectively, even though it isn’t really a horror.

Anyways, the show looks pretty damn interesting so far. I’ve heard it gets a lot more :science: further in, but I guess complicated scientific theory is better than asspulls, right?

Leave a Reply

