Review: Bakuman

snap1

Anime: Bakuman
Animation Studio: J.C. Staff
Number of Episodes: 25
Length per Episode: Approximately 24 minutes

This’ll probably be one of my shortest reviews. I just don’t have much to say in regards to Bakuman.

I also plan on writing up my preview for Dog Days after this, but I’ll probably schedule it to pop up in the afternoon instead of right after I’m done. Or I might just write it when I wake up tomorrow.


Bakuman is a story about two guys, Mashiro Moritaka and Takagi Akito, in their quest to become mangakas.snap2

The show follows their journey with the ups and downs of trying to get into the mangaka business, and meeting other characters in the same situation.

Plot review is short because it’s a realistic setting and such. I don’t have to explain any extra details.

I’m also not sure I have much to say in regards to Bakuman on a personal level. I’ve said in one of my previous posts that you can tell an author is good when they can make ordinary things interesting. While I guess you wouldn’t exactly call becoming mangakas “ordinary,” it doesn’t rely on any fantasy or supernatural elements to enhance the story.

I guess the other enjoyable aspect to the series is you’re never sure what’s going to happen. The heroes don’t automatically succeed on their first try and such, they fail and have to learn from their mistakes.

The series is also pretty funny when it wants to be. Though it usually favors whatever important event is going on at the time and only throws in comedy randomly.

Yeah, that’s all I’ve really got.

Actually, I guess I could present my opinion on something that a lot of bloggers had very strong opinions about.snap3

Quite a few people were not happy with the relationship between Miho and Mashiro. Actually, that’s a pretty big understatement. People seemed to be physically disgusted with it.

I don’t see the big deal, though. It’s not bad to have a promise to hold on to for motivation. Now, would I actually be willing to be in a relationship like theirs? Hell no. But that doesn’t mean I don’t respect their decision to put their futures above their love life.

Ultimately, I did enjoy Bakuman. I didn’t love it or anything (even though I read the manga), but I certainly didn’t feel like it was a waste of my time in any way. I hope people who didn’t care too much for this season to also watch the second season, though. While this season dealt with the troubles of getting into the industry, the next season starts dealing with all the problems that come with actually being in it. It’s definitely a lot more interesting.

Plus, we’ll also get Hiramaru, who was teased in the last episode. He’s definitely one of the best side characters in the show, he’s hilarious.
Also, we’ll get to see more of Eiji Nizuma. We did get to see a him quite a bit in the first season, but that was just his loopy side. There’s more to Eiji than he lets on, and I hope the scene that made him my favorite character makes it into the next season.

But yeah, Bakuman was enjoyable.

RATING: 8 out of 10.

*No slideshow because there aren’t any :exciting: pictures for a series like this.*

Leave a Reply

