Preview: Ao no Exorcist

snap1

Going through previews slower than I expected. Mainly because I have sleep and work to do, and because I’ve finally started watching Death Note.

Not entirely sure what took me so long to start watching, because it kicks ass, but oh well. Anyways, on to Ao no Exorcist.

Ao no Exorcist is about a guy named Rin, who’s the son of a priest/exorcist named Father Fujimoto. Despite this, he tends to get into fights often, and he messes up a lot at things he tries to do.

It turns out he has this rough personality because he’s actually not who he thinks he is.snap2

snap3

Now that his powers are released, tons of demons are after him to either take him back to hell, or kill him.


Honestly, it’d pretty much your generic shounen setup and characters. Give rough, yet good-willed teenage main character immense power, etc., etc.

However, just because it’s shounen doesn’t automatically mean it’s bad. It has an interesting premise, and it has been executed pretty well so far. Though I did roll my eyes at the, “While we’re under siege, you should know that this sword will unlock your demonic powers. I don’t want you to ever use or unsheathe it. You can have it, though.” part, at least it wasn’t dragged on for more episodes.

Anyways, if you find the premise interesting, give the show a shot. And if you already like shounen shows, you’re pretty much guaranteed to love this.

P.S. Father Fujimoto is a badass.

snap4

4 Comments on “Preview: Ao no Exorcist”

  1. Nadja says:

    Thou shalt perish where thou stendeth!

    Yeah, you tell ’em, Father!

  2. I was really disappointed with the last few episodes. Do you think they will adapt the manga in the upcoming movie?

    ( http://shinigamilist.com/2011/09/30/ao-no-exorcist-movie-green-lit/ )

    I hope they do. It’s so much better…

    • Riyoga says:

      “I will say that I like where the anime is going, though. I browsed some of the later manga chapters to see where the story was going to go, and I can confidently say that I like this anime-original arc more than the current manga one. The arc in the manga just seems kind of dumb and boring, whereas the anime one is pretty intense so far. Then again, I did skim the chapters so that may have contributed to not enjoying it as much… Nah, lets go with the first one.”

      I wrote that after 20 or so episodes of the show. The problem I had with the manga was that the factions with the spiritual group or whatever they were (like I said, I did some skimming) were incredibly uninteresting and it seemed to be pulling in a lot of new characters out of nowhere, which was a bit to memorize.

      But the main problem I had was that it was playing off as an arc that’s just going to get thrown into the trash bin afterwards. There might be some character or plot progression or something, but genuinely don’t expect any of these new characters to ever show up again except for a mention in conversation or something.

      The only problem I have with this anime arc is that the villain (Rin and Yukio’s uncle or whoever) was an incredibly boring villain. But otherwise the arc is focusing on something that people genuinely care about in regards to the show: Satan. Seeing what his thoughts regarding his sons and other people are is infinitely more interesting than some spiritual group traitor plot.

      I’m not sure whether manga fans are just of the mindset that manga fans can get in, which is that the anime adaptation is automatically shit when it starts doing it’s own thing, or if they genuinely do not like this arc. It’s hard to tell when the opinion seems to always start with, “It stopped following the manga __ episodes ago.” That’s why it just seems like it’s the usual manga fan bias. I’d like a fan to actually explain why this arc is bad without the fact that it’s doing something different than the manga being a reason.

      Oh god I just typed an essay. Well, at least I can use some of this stuff in my review of the show. Hurray for laziness!
      But to answer your question real quickly, there’s a possibility that they could. I don’t think the arc is long enough to last a whole movie without having random shit thrown in, but I also don’t think they’re going to expect the author to write a plot for the movie while she’s busy working on a weekly series. Though she might just be handed one to approve.


Leave a Reply

