Achievement Unlocked – 100 Comments

NOTE: Due to studying for finals and playing Mass Effect and Mass Effect 2, I’m on hiatus for about a week. I’ll be posting again starting May 26.

Geez, it’s only been around four months since I started blogging (for real), and I’ve already reached 100 comments. Never did I dream of getting this many comments this quickly. It still feels like I just started blogging yesterday.

Anyways, here’s the math I did to figure out I got 100 comments.snap1

205
– 3 (trackback links)
– 2 (Catherine Meyer’s comment and my response don’t count because my current theory is that she’s some kind of spambot 2.0)
/ 2 (I respond to all comments)
= 100.

In case that’s hard to read, the equation is: (205 – 3 – 2) / 2 = 100.

I suppose as is standard with these kinds of milestones, I should write about myself and/or the blog. But first, I have a few thanks/shout-outs to give.


snap2
glothelegend

Glo was the first person to comment on my blog, so he’s the first to be thanked/mentioned. Actually, he wasn’t technically the first, some spambot commented first. That doesn’t count, obviously. He’s also a cool, funny dude who happens to have similar tastes as my own. It’s nice to have someone out there who loves Shakugan no Shana as much as I do.

I also want to thank Glo for putting up with my essay-sized comments on his posts. I seriously need to learn how to compress what I say.


snap3
TRazor

I’d like to thank TRazor for his always kind, yet critical eye. Back when I wrote my rage post about the comments UTW got for dropping Steins;Gate, he was the first and only one to admonish me for my behavior. However, I didn’t hate him for saying so, and apparently he didn’t hate me for writing the post, because we still get along just fine.

Though we may not agree all the time (Clannad is cancer in anime form), I always really enjoy our discussions.


snap4
Nadja

Oh my balls, Nadja, that commenting spree you went on that one day was insane. I believe you made about 6 or 7 comments in one go? That was crazy, and I love you for it. It seems like you always have something to say, which I respect a lot. I just wish I could return the favor, but I hardly find any time to write posts of my own let alone comment on other people’s posts.

After I finish writing this, I’ll go comment on a couple of your posts before getting back to Mass Effect.


To any other commenters who didn’t make the list, just know that I do appreciate each and every comment I get.

It always sucks when a post gets a lot of views, but hardly anyone comments. How am I supposed to know what people thought of the post? Did they like it? Hate it? Agree with me? Disagree with me? Want me to write more of those kinds of posts? Never write a post like that again? It just turns into a guessing game on my part.


Anyways, I guess I should write about the blog itself and its future.

As of now, I see no end in site (unintentional pun, awwww yeah) for my blogging. My Preview/Review format is very nice compared to when I tried doing episodics. School might sometimes get in the way, but I usually find time to write a post eventually. I did have to essentially give up gaming to blog, but now I’m working on finding time for that too.

There’s a chance I might be getting a job in the near future if everything goes well. If I do, my blogging may become much slower, or the posts could become shorter. However, I have absolutely no intention of abandoning this. It’s a fun hobby, and writing these posts helps my writing and analytical skills.

I might change the theme for the blog soon. I’ve been using this one for a while, and I think it’s time for a new look. Also, I might be getting myself a banner in the future if a friend is willing to make one for me. I can’t give any definite time on that coming to fruition, though.

Looking back on these past four months, I have to say, I’ve almost completely dropped my humor from my writing. As much as I like being funny, I also like being professional. I think I’ll try and add more humor to future posts. I’m not saying I’m a professional comedian or anything, but I’m certainly not as dull as some of my posts make me seem.

Other than that, I’m proud of my work so far, but I’ll continue to try to improve this blog as much as I can. I hope you guys continue to enjoy reading my posts as much I enjoy writing them.


P.S. It seems as though most of my hits are just people using Google to find a single picture of Dawn I used in my Pokémon: Best Wishes! preview.snap5
As sad as this may be, someone actually managed to find my site by googling “desu fuck” once. I don’t want to know what they were trying to find.

20 Comments on “Achievement Unlocked – 100 Comments”

  1. feal87 says:

    Congratulations for the achievement!

    I’m four month old today too! (have to check this blog creation date, it will be likely around the same time then…)

    • Riyoga says:

      Oh yeah, I remember looking up your blog info and seeing we actually started around the same time. We’re sort of like kindred spirits in a sense.

      You’ve been far more successful than I have, though, haha. I could never manage to be as active as you are. So kudos for that.

  2. Marina says:

    Aww, well I really liked this post. It was also pretty awesome that you thanked some notable people who helped contribute to your blog (maybe I’ll do a post like this some time…).

    If you DO change up your theme and are interested in getting a banner, let me know. I dabble in gfx from time to time (nothing personally drawn or anything).

    Keep on posting! I do read quite a bit of your entries, though I don’t always comment since I tend to prefer commenting on larger pieces instead of on episodic commentary.

    • Riyoga says:

      It was actually a pretty fun post to write, just like my last few. For some reason it’s easier for me to meta-blog.

      Oooh. That would be pretty nice. I don’t actually know the dimensions yet since different themes have different banner sizes and such. I’ll get back to you on that.
      What would you need from me to make one, though?

      Yeah, I know that feeling. I read tons of posts, but only comment on a few. Sometimes someone has even said what I was going to say so I don’t bother to repeat it. I’m working on being more vocal, though.

      • Marina says:

        Ah, here is the comment I missed! I’d definitely need to know the dimensions, as well as your vision for what you expect in a banner. Do you like anime characters in the render, or more scenery? Do you have sample banners that you’ve seen that you really like that you feel would suit the mood of your blog? Do you have any particular text you want in it, or would you prefer it to be text-less?

        • Riyoga says:

          The dimensions are 900×200.

          An anime character or two would be nice, and minimal scenery if any (as for the characters, you can do whoever you want, or you can use characters from any show I’ve given a 10 on my anime list). The background itself can stay white or be any color, really. I just want a simple banner, so I don’t exactly want it to be exploding with colors, haha.

          I replied to your other comment saying which banners that you linked that I liked, so there’s that. As for a mood that matches the blog, I don’t know. My readers probably have a better idea for my blog’s mood than I do, so I don’t have a problem leaving it up to you.

          As for text, if you could make two versions (one that says “Riyoga’s Ramblings” and one that has no text), that’d be amazing. I’ll probably go with the textless one, but it wouldn’t hurt to have one with text just in case.

          By all means, don’t feel restrained by what I just wrote at all. As I said for Nadja, I basically have no artistic sense, so pretty much anything will amaze me. And of course, thanks for taking the time to do this! You guys are awesome.

      • Marina says:

        Alright, so here’s my first try.

        Textless: http://img560.imageshack.us/img560/4716/riyoga1textless.png
        and
        Text: http://img23.imageshack.us/img23/6536/riyoga1text.png

        Let me know if there’s anything you’d like changed/tweaked, etc. I really just kinda went random and threw in characters I thought you might like.

        • Riyoga says:

          KJSEBFAKWB.

          Damn. Just seeing those rubs in the fact that I’d never be able to make something that good. Ever.

          The only thing I really have to say is that you forgot the “y” in “Riyoga” on the texted banner.

          Other than that, all I can say is that if you had fun making the banners, I’d love to see more. Eventually having enough banners so that they can be randomly generated when someone looks at the site would be amazing. But if you don’t have the time or don’t want to, then that’s fine.

  3. TRazor says:

    Oh damn, I’m late.

    Oh wow, I’m inside the post.

    Oh thanks, mate :)

    Oh no, Clannad’s just a different of opinon (happens all the time for me)

    Oh dear, I’m running out of ideas.

    Oh well, congratz and keep going.

    Oh, and this definitely isn’t the last you’ve heard from me ;)

  4. Nadja says:

    Congrats! Also, wow! I’m in the post! I feel honored.

    Awww shucks, thanks. It seems like I also have a rambling curse. XD

    lol don’t worry about it. Oh, and by the way, there’s a cookie awaiting you in one of my newest blog posts. I think you will find it to be particularly scrumptious. :P

    I’m glad that your blogging has become more fun for you than when you did episodic posts. The editorial posts that you’ve been posting lately are always interesting and create more of a variation in your posts.

    Oh, and I have photoshop elements (aka watered down photoshop… it’s what I made my banner on my blog with). If you would like someone to make a banner for you, I would be glad to help. Just let me know what picture you’d like me to use and what it should look like. I have like 600+ fonts on my computer, so it’s bound to look unique. You won’t get any papyrus from me (nice font, but so overrused D:)

    I really hate when that happens. In the Ao no Exorcist first impression I did, I posted a pic of Rin (which I took from Google Images and may have found on another blog). Now, my AnE first impression has the most views out of all the posts (most of the “referring sites” are google image searches) and only one commenter other than myself. Feels bad man.

    • Riyoga says:

      Mmmm. That cookie was delicious. I’ll also get to enjoy it multiple times and whenever I want since it’s digital (unless my hard drive explodes or something).

      The editorial posts are definitely nice; it’s fun talking about anime from that perspective.

      Oooh. Well, the best I could do would be to get the dimensions for the banner after choosing a new layout, and finding a picture I like. I seriously have no artistic sense whatsoever. Which is kind of a good thing, because you could make virtually anything, and there’s a 99.99% chance that I’ll love it and would be better than what I’d come up with.

      I’m still more ashamed that someone who actually googled “desu fuck” was on my blog more than the fact that a lot of readers don’t say anything.

      • Nadja says:

        Yeah, seriously. Who wants real cookies when you can have a digital one?

        I have a TON of fanart on my computer (granted it’s mostly of anime guys xP), but if you tell me what you’d like, I probably have it somewhere on this cramped hard drive.

        I think the fact someone googled “desu fuck” and found your blog is disturbing, but even more than that, hilarious. xD

        • Riyoga says:

          Oh, geez. Well I don’t know what I’d want at all. Probably just a simple banner of some kind. I want people to see a laid back kind of banner, not one bursting with shit that will cause them to have a seizure. The best I can do right now is link you my anime list and you can choose pictures/characters from shows that I gave a 10 to (or you can cheat and use something from Shana, which I technically rate as an 11 out of 10). I can also look for pictures myself to make it easier for you if you’d like. I’ll probably change my site design tomorrow, so I’ll have the dimensions then.

          Oh, I know which post they ended up on, I just don’t want to know what they had hoped to find.

  5. Nadja says:

    I could definitely create something nice and simple for you. In fact, that would be easier. If you don’t like it, you can always just tell me and I’ll fix it. I’m a big girl. I can take criticism, so don’t be afraid to totally reject it if you think it sucks.

    I just hope you’re okay with me not being able to work on it for a few weeks. I have a video project due Firday (which I haven’t started) and I’m going away this weekend. Also, I’m going away the second week of June after school ends, so you’ll probably receive it in the latter half of June. Let me know if this is a problem, and if it is, I’ll put this on higher priority, and I’ll try to squeeze it in before I leave.

    • Riyoga says:

      Oh, no, I’m not saying that I’d pull my punches, I’m saying I literally have no artistic sense. Pretty much everything impresses me. Except abstract paintings. I’ve never understood what’s so great about paintings that look like the artist dipped their penis in paint and then tried to have sex with the paper.

      Of course there’s no problem. School work and personal stuff should always come first. You’re only doing this as a favor, I’d be a pretty huge dick to impose a deadline on you. Take your time.
      Oh, and I’ll have the dimensions tomorrow. I spent today getting caught up on anime instead of writing a post/working on the blog.

      • Nadja says:

        Oh okay. xD Oh God, I lold. I hate those abstract paintings so much. I got my haircut yesterday, and I just sat there for an hour looking at this weird abstract, trying to figure out what the fuck the artist was thinking as he painted it. It kinda looked like a wine glass mixed with a river and an eye. The more I looked at it, the more pissed off I got.

        Thank you. I will definitely find the time to work on it eventually. I really need to stop going outside so much. XD

        well, that’s nice. I’m currently 5 episodes behind on Ao no Exorcist (the only anime I actually ended up watching this season). Seriously, summer needs to get its ass over here right now.

        • Riyoga says:

          Alright, I’ve decided on my new theme, and the dimensions for the header are 900×200.

          Coincidentally, this theme will also allow me to put in a background. Don’t suppose you know where I could turn for that, do you? I’ve been trying to tweak it a bit myself to get something nice, but I don’t really have any good images for a background.


Leave a Reply

