Site Update Information

So I changed the theme of the site, obviously. I figured the site needed a new look, so a new theme was the easiest option. Also, this new theme will allow me to put in a header/banner, and also have a background image.

The background image is kind of neat, because I can make the image fixed so you see the same thing in the background the whole time, or I can have it scroll so it’s multiple ones of the same picture as you scroll down.

My current background is only temporary, but it’s probably one of the better images I have. If anyone wants to be awesome and make me one, or point me to where I can find something good to use, I’m all ears.

I’ll have a new banner later on, thanks to the awesome Nadja. Which reminds me, Marina also offered, but she didn’t respond to my response back in that post. I didn’t think this was something important enough to send an email over, even though I could have done that. If you’re still interested, Marina, let me know. It’d be cool to have more than one banner to switch between.

8 Comments on “Site Update Information”

  1. Marina says:

    Ah, yes, sorry about not replying. I didn’t expect you to do a makeover so quickly :p I also left it as an open invitation and figured you’d follow up or E-mail. I look forward to seeing what Nadja cooks up, though >.< I'm still up for trying something out if you have any ideas of what you'd like.

    As for the background, it's cool. I like that you opted for the stationary background, which I prefer much, much more to a repeated background that would have the awkward line showing where it ends and begins again.

    • Marina says:

      Some samples so you have an idea of my style:






      • Riyoga says:

        Out of those, I like the third to last one, and the one after it (your site banner). I do really like the other ones, but I’d prefer something looking like those two when it comes to a banner for my site.

        That’s because the others have… what’s the word for it, shading? I don’t know, but they have very light colors that kind of mold into each other. But the two I pointed out have very solid colors. I probably have the wrong word for it. If you look at them, you can see the coloring difference I’m talking about, probably.

    • Riyoga says:

      I didn’t think it was a big enough deal to email over. If you want, I can talk to you over email about it from now on, but I don’t don’t think that’s really necessary since I’m about to respond to your other comment.

      I hate that line too, but there are images where the bottom and top match up, so that you don’t even notice where it starts repeating.

      • Marina says:

        You seem to like saturated colors and color blocking :3
        So another thing I’d need from you are your requests: any specific renders or characters you’d want featured, if you want text in the banner or not, etc.

        • Riyoga says:

          You managed to respond to me before I responded to your other comment. D:

          I don’t care too much for specific characters, but if you want an idea of some to use, I linked my list in response to your comment on the 100 comments post. Oh, I also occasionally put my favorite characters in my tags for the shows, but sometimes I forget.

          And I don’t know anything about renders, so…

  2. baka_girl says:

    This theme was good, but I really like your previous theme. Just saying~ ^^

    • Riyoga says:

      Well the last theme was basically entirely done for me. The look, setup, everything.

      This theme, on the other hand, only gave me the columns. The entire page was pretty much white until I added the background. I’m going to try to find a better background, and I’ll also have a a banner or a few in a while. Basically, this theme is more work on my part, but I think it’ll be worth it. Plus, I like to mix things up.


Leave a Reply

