Dropped: Hanasaku Iroha

snap1

Anime: Hanasaku Iroha
Animation Studio: P.A. Works
Number of Episodes I Lasted: 6
Length per Episode: Approximately 24 minutes

I tried, I really did. I don’t like dropping shows, but I just can’t do it. I can’t bring myself to watch this show anymore. I haven’t touched it in over a month.


I should have caught the warning signs at the beginning. The first two episodes of this show were heralded as being the best of the season. I watched it, and only found irritation. Following episodes were disliked by those some bloggers, and I liked them even less.

It’s tough to watch a show that doesn’t have a single character you can like. I find each and every one of them either boring or irritating.

I remember once when someone told me it was possible to like a show even if you don’t like the characters. However, there’s a difference between interesting characters you don’t like and uninteresting characters you don’t like. I don’t find any characters in this show to be interesting. It’s hard to watch a show entirely focused on the characters when you don’t like any of said characters.

And you know, it really comes back to Ohana.snap2

I don’t like Ohana. I really don’t like Ohana. She irks me. Not like Kirino from Ore no Imouto did in a blatant way, but all of her small decisions and thoughts piss me off. Though, I already went into detail about this in my Preview post, so I won’t repeat myself here.

But you know, in the end, for some reason I can see why people would like this show. I can see my reasons of disliking Ohana (and possibly the other characters) as personal ones; and the way the story is going doesn’t work for me, but I’m aware other people may like it.

So I guess ultimately, Hanasaku Iroha is a show that just doesn’t work for me personally, but I can’t completely bring myself to call it a bad show.

RATING: 7 out of 10 (personally a 6 out of 10).

*Dropped shows don’t get their own slideshows*


10 Comments on “Dropped: Hanasaku Iroha”

  1. Joojoobees says:

    I haven’t gone so far as to drop it, but Hanasaku Iroha is a bit of a disappointment to me. I think the art and animation is excellent, but the rest isn’t up to the same standard.

    • Riyoga says:

      It certainly doesn’t help that I’m watching about 20 other shows this season, that’s for sure.

      Oh, definitely. Even in my Preview post, I praised the art. It’s fantastic. I can’t like a show just due to the art, though.

  2. Other people have other point of view about the anime.
    As for myself I personally like the anime a lot. The plot is just awesome for me.
    I personally like the characters in the anime (yes I mean all of them).
    My rating for the anime would be 9/10.

    I get why some people don’t like the show. But I find that most of them do like it.
    The only anime I dropped this spring is Hidan No Aria, worst anime plot ever. ( A lot of people dropped it on Episode 6 including me)

    • Riyoga says:

      Eh, I feel like Hidan no Aria gets far more hate than it deserves. I feel like part of this is because some people watched gg’s subs without realizing they were trolling (how they accomplished this mentality, I’ll never know) and thought people were actually talking that way.
      Other reasons were pretty much “hurrdurr generic KugiRie show #98245” which is a mentality I don’t agree with, nor was it even backed up. Something can be good (or at least enjoyable) without being new.

      Sure, Hidan no Aria doesn’t have the greatest execution in the world, but it has plenty of things going for it. It’s got an awesome setting that feels like it’s straight out of a video game, it’s got pretty good fights, and it pulls off humor pretty damn well when it wants to. Episode 6? That episode was hilarious. It’s been quite a while since I’ve seen a show incorporate music into it’s humorous situations, too.
      I don’t get what you mean by having the worst plot, though. The main plot hasn’t even really formed completely by Episode 6. Plus, what they have done so far is decently imaginative.

  3. abscissa says:

    Personally, I like Hanasaku Iroha but I understand it doesn’t work for everyone.

    I’m just wondering, even though you don’t like the character and the show itself you still gave a pretty decent rate? I think that’s so generous.

    • Riyoga says:

      It’s actually not that decent. My grading scale doesn’t follow the usual standard, as I detail in my Review List and Rating System page.

      7 – Meh show. You might like it, but I didn’t. Not recommended.
      6 – Bad show.

  4. TWWK says:

    I feel similarly to you. I finally dropped it about halfway through this week’s episode. While I enjoyed some episodes thoroughly, and most at least somewhat, it became a marathon of just “getting through” for me. And in the end, I didn’t care enough about Ohana to see the show through. In fact, for the most part, I didn’t like her character at all, and characters remain the most important part of a series for me.

    The show has wonderful animation, though, and is something a bit “different” from the norm. I would say it’s a pretty good show (I would probably give it an 8 thus far) – just not my cup of tea.

    • Riyoga says:

      Yeah, just like I said, it’s tough to watch a show when you don’t care about the characters. Especially shows like these, which are entirely focused on them.

      Hmm, pretty generous rating. Usually I try to make my scores a combination of objective analysis and also personal enjoyment. Personal enjoyment always wins out in the end, though, because my scores for shows are supposed to show how much I enjoyed watching.

  5. Marina says:

    It’s interesting to finally see some negative opinions about this show, which was “heralded” (nice word :P ) so much when it first aired for its animation and characters. I enjoy this show quite a bit, but there are times where the show completely annoys me. I stayed with this show because the first episode convinced me that this would not be a typical hot spring kind of show that featured tons of fan service. Unfortunately, I’ve noticed quite a bit of fan service wiggling itself into scenes where I don’t think it belongs. Despite that, I like HanaIroha enough to keep watching it.

    • Riyoga says:

      My vocabulary only kicks it when it wants to. That’s why I only seem sporadically intelligent. The jerk.

      Fanservice isn’t always a deal breaker, as long as it’s done intelligently (as paradoxical as that sounds). Unfortunately, most fanservice is just thrown in randomly and is quite annoying.


Leave a Reply

