Summer 2011 Impressions

Before I start, I’d just like to mention that I’m pretty sure I’m the last blogger to be doing this… again. I like to wait until the last minute because you never know when a new show will be added to the lineup, but I figure I may as well put out this post now.

Also, there are two kinds of posts you can do for this kind of thing. The first way is to actually research your stuff and provide background information the charts usually don’t. The second way is to just completely go off the chart, and just say your thoughts on the lineup because the purpose of the post is to show what shows you’re interested in or what shows you’re going to blog.

I do the latter.

As always, I’ll get straight to the point for each show and present my thoughts with the expected severe lacking of clever formatting or pictures. Something new I decided to do for me is also say at the end which of the shows I plan on watching. This is because, obviously, I do Preview and Review posts on the shows I watch.

snap1

Appleseed XIII

Apparently there’s a lot of Appleseed shows and movies or something. I’ve never watched any of them though, so this doesn’t really entice me. Unless it’s something I don’t have to watch previous versions of in order to enjoy it. But how am I supposed to know if it’s like that? Boy, I hope nobody notices I shamelessly copied this from last season’s impressions.


Inumarudashi

Seems like a kid’s show. Doesn’t really look too appealing.


Double-J

“Life in a high school full of cute girls.” Hahahaha, no.


BLADE

I have yet to watch any of the anime Marvel shows, so I’ll probably skip this one too. However, I may watch the English dub version that’s going to start on G4 soon.


Uta no Prince-sama – Maji Love 1000%

A show for all of the ladies out there that doesn’t involve men raping each other! Though you’re pretty much guaranteed at least one male character who can’t wear a shirt properly.


Natsume Yuujin-Chou San

I’ve seen people praising this third season, but I haven’t watched the previous two seasons, so I can’t really watch this.


Yuru Yuri

Oh look, I didn’t know they were making a third season for K-ON.


Kamisama Dolls

After going more than a row without a positive impression, we’ve finally reached a show I’m looking forward to. The synopsis looks like the show has the potential for some good mindfucks, and I love mindfucks. Also looks like it could have some interesting psychological/philosophical elements.


Morita-san wa Mukuchi

This show looks like it has the potential to be funny, but I’m not sold on it yet. I’ll most likely wait for reactions to the first episode before deciding on this one.


Nyanpire The Animation

I’ll be honest, this looks really stupid. But it also looks like it can be really enjoyable. Not to mention, I love cats.


Usagi Drop

I think I’m one of the very few people that doesn’t find the synopsis that interesting. Growing up stories are really a flip of the coin for me. However, this is a noitaminA show, so I’m definitely willing to give it a shot.


NO. 6

Ooh, it’s been a while since I’ve seen a show with a sci-fi setting. That’s enough of a reason for me to watch, but being the other noitaminA show this season certainly helps. Oh, and I heard the show has a bit of a gay undertone, but that doesn’t really bother me. I don’t hate homosexuality, I hate when shows use it as a gimmick so they don’t have to write an adequate plot so they can counter criticism with, “Well I guess you’re homophobic!”


THE IDOLM@STER

I know enough about the source material to know this has the potential to be a good show, but probably won’t be. I’ll pay attention to other bloggers and if I’m proven wrong, I’ll apologize to the show by marathoning it when the season is over.


BLOOD-C

I’ve never watched any of the Blood series, so this doesn’t really interest me. Actually, I think I’ve seen a few episodes of Blood+, but it bored me.


Mayo Chiki!

This show, just like Morita-san wa Mukuchi, has the potential to be funny. Again, I’ll wait for general reactions.


R-15

Same as the last show, basically. However, I will actually watch this one myself, because I feel like this show has a higher potential to be funny than the other two.


Dantalian no Shoka

This is one of the shows I’m looking forward to the most. The plot sounds intriguing, the art looks good, and Gainax usually puts out some pretty good shows. The show could degenerate into “DEMONZ LOL,” but I doubt it.


Ro-Kyu-Bu!

Now, there are two ways this show can go. This can either be a cute and cleverly written story about elementary school girls getting into sports, or it could be a ton of lolicon-pandering. Actually, it could be both, so there’s three ways it can go. I’ll keep my eyes on other reviews for this one.


Kami-sama no Memo-chou

With Gosick ending after this season, this’ll be the perfect replacement for it. Well, at least setting-wise. Hopefully it’s executed just as well.


Mawaru Penguindrum

The details for this show have been kept on the down low for quite a while. I’d normally say, “So I’ll give it a shot,” but I’m trying not to pick up too many shows this season (if that weren’t obvious enough already), so I’m just going to wait for reviews on this one.


Sacred Seven

If there’s one thing I’ve learned after getting into anime, it’s that Sunrise rarely disappoints with their shows. Besides, if it turns out to be terrible, I can always drop it.


Baka to Test to Shoukanjuu Ni!

I don’t understand why a lot of bloggers dislike this show. The only reason I see people say is, “TOO MANY TRAP JOKES.” I’ll admit, they did at least one per episode, but there were so many other jokes in the show besides those. I also admit that a lot of the jokes were about Akihisa being dumb, but they varied a lot.
The thing I love about the show is that it understands a joke isn’t just about the punchline, it’s also about the delivery. This show has good jokes, but also absolutely excels in visual humor. The way the characters and animation present the jokes are always extremely amusing, and I can’t wait to see more of it.


Ikoku Meiro no Croisée

I’m on the fence with this show. I want to pick it up, but I’m just not quite there yet. I’ll wait for other bloggers’ impressions of the first episode, though I’ll probably watch it regardless if the reactions are positive or negative.


Itsuka Tenma no Kuro-Usagi

I still need to finish it, but the story is by the same guy who wrote Legend of the Legendary Heroes. I’m quite enjoying the show, so it’s only fair that I give his other work a shot, right?


Nekogami Yaoyorozu

This synopsis doesn’t really interest me. It could be funny, but I won’t check it out, myself.


Manyuu Hikenchou

Queen’s Blade season #9827346.


Nurarihyon no Mago Sennen Makyou

I haven’t seen the first season, so I won’t be watching this.


Kaitou Tenshi Twin Angel Kyun Kyun¤Tokimeki Paradise!!

What the fuck did I just type.


The Tantei Opera Milky Holmes special doesn’t count, because… well, it’s a special. Duh.

I don’t have any plans for OVAs, since I usually watch them on a whim. I am, however, excited for the two Pokémon movies that are coming out. I’ll probably have to wait until 2012 until they’re out on DVD/BD and subbed, though.

Anyways, here’s the list of shows I plan to watch from the lineup:

Kamisama Dolls
Nyanpire The Animation
Usagi Drop
NO. 6
R-15
Dantalian no Shoka
Kami-sama no Memo-chou
Sacred Seven
Baka to Test to Shoukanjuu Ni!
Itsuka Tenma no Kuro-Usagi

2 Comments on “Summer 2011 Impressions”

  1. glothelegend says:

    The best thing is the Katteni Kaizou OVA that’s going to be out this summer.

    • Riyoga says:

      Haven’t even seen or heard of it before. Maybe I’ll check it out after I get off my lazy ass and finally take care of my backlog of old shows I still need to see.


Leave a Reply

