Review: 30-sai no Hoken Taiiku

snap1

Anime: 30-sai no Hoken Taiiku
Animation Studio: The Gathering
Number of Episodes: 12
Length per Episode: Approximately 12 minutes

This will be a pretty short review, but the show itself is pretty short, too, so I guess it’s not too surprising. (EDIT: Well, so much for short…)

I’m more concerned for tomorrow (I’m writing this Sunday night). It looks like I’m going to have around three or four reviews to do. That’s going to be a bit of a pain.


30-sai no Hoken Taiiku is a really good example for shows that are biased against. When other bloggers read the synopsis, most of them laughed about how it was sad that this kind of product/idea even existed. Sex education for 30-year olds? How sad.

Then what happened when the first episode came out? Well it turns out the show is bad because all of the advice is actually censored. People complained that they didn’t get any sex advice due to the censorship.

Now, I’m not a genius by any means, but these thoughts seem to contradict each other.

I don’t know, sometimes I feel like people sometimes make judgements about shows before even seeing them, and then no matter the show turns out to be, stick to that original opinion. To me, it seemed like that happened with this show.

Though, this show is a comedy. That’s why this review will be short. As I’ve said multiple times, you cannot argue the case for comedy. Everyone has their own sense of humor, so it’s pointless to try and convince someone that something is funny when they don’t think it is. You can spend all day explaining why, lets say, dark humor is better than puns. In the end, it’s pointless, because there are people who just find puns funny. That’s all there is to it.

The humor in 30-sai no Hoken Taiiku is random humor. Surprisingly, most of the jokes don’t rely on anything sexual. Most of the time it’s just plain random. Now, I don’t always like random humor. I hate the kind in shows where they treat it as: “I’m doing something random and funny!” “Oh my god, you are doing something random! Why are you doing that?!” Acknowledging the joke just ruins it for me. Luckily, this show doesn’t do that. Actually, they may have done it once or twice, but that was it.

Basically, if you like random humor, you’ll like 30-sai no Hoken Taiiku. Just watch the first few episodes, and if you laugh, then you’re good. If not, well then don’t be afraid to pass it up. Don’t just give it one episode, though, because I think the first episode is the weakest of the first three.

RATING: 9 out of 10.

P.S. The ending after the last episode’s ED made me D’awwwww.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


4 Comments on “Review: 30-sai no Hoken Taiiku”

  1. Nadja says:

    I’ve only watched the first episode, but it was definitely better than I expected. Especially that epic OP. Did not expect that at all.


Leave a Reply

