Review: The World God Only Knows II

snap1

Anime: The World God Only Knows II
Animation Studio: Manglobe
Number of Episodes: 12
Length per Episode: Approximately 24 minutes

Alright, this one for sure will be one of my shorter reviews. It’s the same concept and everything as the first season, so I’d just be repeating what I said in my review of the first season.

So, instead of a standard review, I’m going to link my first season review and also my post “Pleading the Case for The World God Only Knows” (where I offer a counter to common criticism against the show) here, then just talk about an arc or two in my review.

NOTE: As a fun mini-game, guess right now how many times I say “keikaku” in the review. I found more chances to use it than expected.


My favorite arc for this season was Jun Nagase’s, which is why I’m sad most other bloggers disliked her arc. Well, that’s not entirely true; everyone seemed fine with the arc until the second half when everything starting going according to keikaku for Keima.

Rather, it seems like everyone’s favorite arc was Chihiro’s. Not that her arc is bad, but I don’t agree with the reasons people liked it. The first reason was obviously since Chihiro wasn’t a stereotypical galge character. That’s fine and all, but I prefer when the show is parodying the stereotypes. The other reason seemed to be because nothing was going according to keikaku until the very end. This seems to be because people prefer the methods of capturing the girls to be unpredictable. I’d argue against that point saying that even if Keima had a keikaku, you’re never sure what he’s going to do exactly.

But anyways, I liked Jun’s arc the most not because of the capture session itself, or the keikaku for it, but rather its topic. I’m not necessarily a connoisseur on “ideal vs. reality,” but I liked the way it was handled. I was actually on Jun’s side for pretty much the entire arc. Sure she went a tad overboard on things, but she was just trying to help, which was why the students pissed me off. If they’re going to complain about things, then they should do something about them. That mentality of complaining about things but not doing anything about them is the same reason I hate Ohana from Hanasaku Iroha.

Wrapping this up, I enjoyed the first season immensely, and I enjoyed this season just as much. This is the only show where I will get up early on Monday to watch it, and if something is able to get me to stop sleeping so I can watch it sooner, then it’s doing something right.

It’s too bad there’s no keikaku for a third season yet, not to mention sales haven’t been fantastic (though the manga is still selling incredibly well) but I guess it’s better they left it off with a filler episode than-snap2

Wait, Tenri what are you doing there you’re not supposed to… my god Manglobe, why would you do this to us.

RATING: 10 out of 10.

P.S. No seriously why hasn’t a single blog I’ve read so far mentioned Tenri. This was when anime-only watchers were supposed to gasp at what that scene could mean yet it seems to have gone over everyone’s heads. They weren’t even trying to hide that teaser, guys.

Keikaku Count: 5 (alright I guess I didn’t use it THAT much)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


6 Comments on “Review: The World God Only Knows II”

  1. Nadja says:

    (psst there’s six keikakus including the one at the beginning >.>)

    I really liked the first season, so I’ll definitely check this one out as well. God, I have so much to catch up on. Dx

    • Riyoga says:

      The keikaku in the opening note doesn’t count, it’s not part of the review. Same with the one in the keikaku count. Dammit, I was thinking about making that more clear, then decided not to. Sucks.

      1) Marathon the crap out of the good Spring shows that are ending.
      2) Reach your 200 episodes watched goal.
      3) ???
      4) Profit.

      • Nadja says:

        Looks like your keikaku didn’t work. :/

        Except there’s only an hour and a half until July and I’m 50 episodes short! Well, whatever. Sad thing is last year I watched, like, 250 during June. (yes, I am a crazy statistics person and have been keeping track of these things for a while).

        BUT that seems like a good idea for July. ;)

        • Riyoga says:

          >Looks like your keikaku didn’t work.

          Oh god, I think I laughed harder than I was supposed to.

          I was actually about to say “Who cares if there’s only an hour and a half left, you can still gun for it!” but then I remembered that time actually passes when you watch shows.

  2. Nadja says:

    ahahaha well who needs time anyway?


Leave a Reply

