Review: Astarotte no Omocha!

snap1

Anime: Astarotte no Omocha!
Animation Studio: Diomedea
Number of Episodes: 12
Length per Episode: Approximately 24 minutes

Review #2 for the day.

I don’t have any witty messages for beforehand, so lets just get straight to the review.


I thought it was funny when people were first talking badly about the show due to its synopsis. It was obvious nothing sexual was actually going to happen. What surprised me was the show was actually genuinely good. I couldn’t wait for the show to end so I could admonish other bloggers for passing judgement on the show before it could even do anything.

And then the second half aired.

The first half was genuinely a good story about growing up, and how being royalty doesn’t automatically mean you’re happy with your life. It was genuinely sad to see Lotte, a 10-year old girl, have to live with the fact that she hardly ever sees her mother. It was genuine, and was handled pretty damn well. It was genuinely genuine. Have I said genuine enough yet?

Then the staff decided, “Well, the first half was nice, so lets make the second half lolicon-pandering garbage.” Which they did. I guess the one bit of praise I can give is that what they aim to do, they do well. Not that it changes the fact that the second half was lolican-pandering garbage, but hey.

It’s especially disappointing in comparison to the first half. I’m not kidding when I say it was good stuff. Not a masterpiece by any means, but it was handled better than expected, and was done with a maturity I didn’t see coming.

I still feel bad that I can’t call this show a surprise hit. I wanted to give it a good score, too, but half a show being pretty damn good doesn’t make up for the other half being complete trash. I’d recommend watching the first five episodes, and then stopping. You’re not really missing out on much if you continue.

RATING: 7 out of 10.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


One Comment on “Review: Astarotte no Omocha!”

  1. lucas says:

    This is one of my favorite anime (ikr) and i agree with you the first 5 episodios were really good and then the other episodes got bored (i still liked them). I think i just fell in love with Lotte and how she was.

    Sometimes i ask myself how could this anime be one of my favorite animes? hmmm maybe because of the romance between Naoya and Lotte or maybe because i am a Lolicon fan but i really enjoyed the main history and all about the Succubo thing.This anime could have been so much better but i think i understoon what they wanted to do and that’s why i liked it

    (i read the manga and i am very pleased with his ending)


Leave a Reply

