Review: Dog Days

snap1

Anime: Dog Days
Animation Studio: Seven Arcs
Number of Episodes: 13
Length per Episode: Approximately 24 minutes

Well it seems like I’m already starting to see the effect my job is going to have on my blogging, considering this was supposed to be out two days ago. The job hasn’t even started yet, either; it’s just training so far. Though with the actual job I’m likely to have earlier shifts.

Anyways, I’m starting to ramble. On to the review.


I already defended the “childish” atmosphere of Dog Days in a different post, so I won’t repeat any of that here.

The biggest draw that Dog Days seemed to have was that the director was the same guy who did Mahou Shoujo Lyrical Nanoha. Now, I still need to watch Nanoha, so I can’t really make any comparisons to it. So instead all I’m able to do is just straight up analyze the show.

I liked the fights in Dog Days. Admittedly, I think the choreography could have been better, but I was entertained well enough. The story wasn’t necessarily anything to write home about, but it was enough to keep me watching.

I was actually surprised by the amount of fanservice that was in the show. It wasn’t every episode or anything, but the amount that was there was surprising. Especially considering I didn’t think they were taking that seriously. One of the first instances of fanservice has the character make a fourth-wall breaking comment about it. But whatever, it’s not like it ruined the show for me or anything.

The one thing that Dog Days excelled at was the foreshadowing card. From the very first episode, it has already thrown out it’s fishing rod with bait attached. As the show goes on, it starts to get more and more blunt with it’s foreshadowing, right until it’s hovering directly over you. The possibility of this light-hearted show having something bad happen was all too real.

I don’t have just praise for Dog Days, though. The main problem with the show is its pacing. It’s… well, it’s really bad. It has an interesting premise and cool fights, but it hardly ever uses them. Almost half of the episodes were just the characters faffing about and could have been easily replaced by something far more interesting (though Cinque playing fetch with the Princess was probably one of the funniest, most straight-faced instances of humor I’ve seen in a long time).

Ultimately, I did enjoy Dog Days. If anything because when I see people hate on a show for what I see as utterly asinine reasons, I’ll find any reason to enjoy the show more than I normally would. Dog Days does have quite a bit going for it, though. The problem is that it only uses things half the time and instead chooses to faff about.

RATING: 8 out of 10.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


6 Comments on “Review: Dog Days”

  1. Nadja says:

    faff count: 2
    You need more faff in this post.

    • Riyoga says:

      But the show needed less of it.

      I actually repeat words a lot without realizing it. When I do, I make fun of myself (like I did in my Astarotte review).

      • Nadja says:

        It’s not so much that it’s annoying. “Faff” is just a strange sounding word that I have never heard before. It almost sounds British…

        • Riyoga says:

          That’s because it’s British slang. Nice intuition, I’m impressed.

          I’m 75% American and 25% British (my grandmother is from England), however, I like my British blood more than my American blood, which is why occasionally in my writing I’ll switch from American English grammar rules to British English grammar rules. In more extreme instances, such as this post, I’ll actually start using British slang.

  2. Nadja says:

    Oh really? So you learned British grammar and slang from your grandmother, or have you actually visited England before? I would love to visit the UK….

    I’m a huge mish-mash of everything. German, Austrian, Italian, and Slovak…. Actually, three or four generations ago, my 8 great-great grandparents (Dad’s side) all lived in a five mile radius. They could’ve walked to each other’s homes.

    • Riyoga says:

      I’ve visited England before. I have quite a few English cousins who I learn the speech from. Plus a lot of non-anime shows I watch tend to have at least one British/English person in it. I’m just exposed to it a lot.

      You remind me of my friend. He’s like 50% Chinese, 25% Italian, and 25% Native American. Possibly other things, too.


Leave a Reply

