Current Thoughts on Summer Shows

Well, before I start with anything, I should say that I actually had an idea for a different post that was actually quite brilliant. So brilliant, that it was going to be a regular segment-like thing for the blog. However, I’m home for the weekend, and I didn’t bring my external hard drive with me. GUESS WHERE ALL MY ANIME IS STORED?

But that’s okay, I decided to write about my thoughts on currently airing shows which are also coming to a close pretty soon. My next post will be the original idea I had since I’ll be back at my dorm by then. Heck, maybe I’ll even write it earlier than I would for a next post. (Except we all know I won’t.)

Anyways, due to not having access to my shows, there won’t be any pictures for this post. But that’s fine, considering I’d just use one as a header for the show, kinda like what I did with my “Preview Bonanza” post.

(EDIT: Obviously I stalled this post for the day so I could actually add in the pictures)


snap1

Blue Exorcist

Episodes Watched: 20 out of 25

I don’t have much to say in regards to Blue Exorcist. It’s been pretty enjoyable, but it hasn’t been exactly extraordinary either. I will say that I like where the anime is going, though. I browsed some of the later manga chapters to see where the story was going to go, and I can confidently say that I like this anime-original arc more than the current manga one. The arc in the manga just seems kind of dumb and boring, whereas the anime one is pretty intense so far. Then again, I did skim the chapters so that may have contributed to not enjoying it as much… Nah, lets go with the first one.


snap2

Baka to Test to Shokanjuu Ni!

Episodes Watched: 8 out of 13

Not much to say for Baka Test either. It’s just as funny as the last season was, which is a good thing, obviously. The most recent arc was actually one of the funniest, despite it basically being three episodes with the same plot. They were varied enough in actual content and jokes that it didn’t bother me at all.


snap3

Bunny Drop

Episodes Watched: 9 out of 11

I said it back in my preview, and I’ll say it again. Bunny Drop has everything that makes a great, heartwarming story without being boring about it. I also said in my preview that it’s things like this show that made me decide I’d prefer to eventually have a daughter rather than a son, so I almost feel like I’m getting some sort of fatherly attachment to Rin. At this point, even when she isn’t doing anything, I can’t help but smile when she’s on-screen. I’m going to be very sad when this show ends.


snap4

Dantalian’s Library

Episodes Watched: 7 out of 13

I’m glad that this show got over it’s monotonous formula after the first two episodes or so; I’ve been able to enjoy the show much more. I’ve seen people compare the show to Kino’s Journey, but I wouldn’t draw that comparison. The situations that happen in Dantalian are way too specific to have any kind of overarching message to be applied to life. Well, except for some of them, I suppose. Doesn’t change the fact that the show is quite enjoyable as of right now, though.


snap13

Itsuka Tenma no Kuro Usagi

Episodes Watched: 7 out of 12

Not entirely sure why I’m still watching this show. I think right now I just want to see the inevitable showdown with Jun Fukuyama and find out what got taken from Taito. The plot of this show is completely nonsensical at this point. Not necessarily because it’s convoluted or uninteresting, but because it’s moving through plot pieces faster than a fat kid eats cake or a hobo drinks liquor. It’s a shame, because some of the plot elements are genuinely interesting, but when they fly past you so quickly, it just seems like the show is pulling stuff out of its ass.


snap5

Kamisama Dolls

Episodes Watched: 8 out of 13

The show is only five or so episodes from ending, and I still have no idea what’s going to happen. That’s both a praise and criticism. It’s praise because having an unpredictable story means you aren’t watching some generic story play out with typical plot developments. However, it’s a criticism because not knowing what’s going to happen gives you a sense of detachment from the show, almost as if you simply aren’t able to comprehend the show itself. At the least, it looks like Kamisama Dolls is going to have an interesting finish, so I hope it doesn’t disappoint as far as that goes.


snap6

Kamisama no Memochou

Episodes Watched: 9 out of 12

Kamisama no Memochou is still suffering from a severe lack of anything significant happening. Each arc just comes off as being completely unimportant, almost as if the point of the show is just to kill time. Admittedly, the Renji arc was significantly more interesting than all of the others, but that’s just another problem. Now that the one interesting arc is over, how is this going to end? With another irrelevant arc? Right now my feelings towards this show are the same as I had with the To Aru series. It’s fun to watch everything play out, and has some genuinely interesting characters, but it ultimately feels like it’s all for nothing.


snap7

No. 6

Episodes Watched: 9 out of 11

MAGIC TREES.
Oh boy, I hope this ending isn’t as retarded as it’s foreshadowing to be. You don’t introduce magic into a sci-fi setting (unless you somehow tie it into technological advancement), and you absolutely do NOT bring in bloody nature gods.
But, there’s still a chance the show could save itself. We’ll have to see what happens.


snap8

Nyanpire: The Animation

Episodes Watched: 9 out of ?

It’s short, it’s cute, it can be genuinely funny at times. What more do you want?


snap9

Sacred Seven

Episodes Watched: 9 out of 12

Remember how I said in my preview that the show could redeem itself and become interesting? Well it didn’t do that. I’m mostly just watching out of sheer obligation at this point. The other reasons are Hellbrick, and the badass fight I’m expecting at the end.


snap10

Steins;Gate

Episodes Watched: 22 out of 24

Hey, remember when season previews started going up, and everyone was talking about how terrible Steins;Gate was going to be because it was by the same guys that did Chaos;Head? Hahaha, good times. It’s even better times now because all of those people get to eat their words. So far the story has been crafted at an excellent pace, and we’ve just reached the climax. Admittedly, the teaser at the end of the last episode was kind of eye-roll inducing of what Okarin needs to prevent, but since I have a general hypothesis of how this is going to play out, I don’t think there’s too much to worry about if I’m right.


snap11

Tiger & Bunny

Episodes Watched: 23 out of 25

Just like with Steins;Gate, Tiger & Bunny is moving at an excellent pace and has been telling a genuinely interesting story. Admittedly, I’m a little disappointed how one of the problems was resolved last episode (hurrah for vagueness), but it was legitimate enough that I’m giving it a pass. I’m curious how this finale is going to spread itself out for two whole episodes, but I don’t have any doubts that the show will pull it off.
Also, Rock Bison never got his own episode. That’s both hilarious and saddening.


snap12

Uta no☆Prince-sama♪ Maji Love 1000%

Episodes Watched: 10 out of 13

I honestly feel bad for anyone that isn’t watching this show. No, you can’t take it seriously, but that’s the point. The show is just so far out there that most of the situations are absolutely hilarious; any scene with Shining Saotome (Norio Wakamoto) is pretty much guaranteed for laughs. Hell, the most recent episode basically had him flying through what could only be described as magical girl transformation backgrounds while making noises and poses like he’s jizzing himself (see picture above). I’ve laughed at this show harder than I have for anything in quite a while.


6 Comments on “Current Thoughts on Summer Shows”

  1. I was a bit bemused by Bunny suddenly remembering everything too. For a second I thought Maverick’s power had a limit of sorts but being called Bunny-chan did the job just fine. I’ve enjoyed Dantalian as well. I think comparisons to Gosick are a bit more apt than the more esoteric Kino. Though some of the setups are the same as Gosick, Dantalian is a bit more fine-tuned and Dalian isn’t quite as annoying as Victorique (holds breath). I need to resume watching Blue Exorcist and Bunny Drop, though I really have enjoyed watching the latter.

    • Riyoga says:

      Well it was shown at the very beginning that he really didn’t like the nickname, and it was also shown that he was capable of breaking Maverick’s implanted memories with a bit of help, which is why I gave that scene a pass.

      Gosick was more of a mystery than Dantalian, though. Admittedly, the mysteries were just meant to be Victorique and Kujo solving them with the viewer watching, but still. Though I do agree the way Dantalian presents its settings and such are very similar to Gosick.

      I didn’t find Victorique annoying in the least. But then again, I’m basically the holy guardian of (good) tsunderes. I’ll take a (good) tsundere over a completely submissive idiot who can’t think for herself any day.

      • That scene didn’t really disappoint me because the remembrance of a word or name is a pretty common device to use so I wasn’t too blown away by it. Yeah, I agree. Gosick did have a nice overarching mystery pervading throughout the series. I really liked the Leviathan arc. I think Dantalian might arrive at the point sometime but they’re content to stick with the monster of the week pattern for now.

        I don’t mind tsunderes overall and while I didn’t hate Victorique she just came off as very limited as a character. One episode she was cold and calculated, the next she was very sweet and loveable. To me, there was no middle ground with her, but I digress.

        • Riyoga says:

          I feel like although Victorique may have seemed that way to the viewer, she never purposefully acted that way. It wasn’t like she chose to have mood swings, and technically she didn’t, but it just seemed like she did since she was so new to intimate human interactions.

  2. Ritsuioko23 says:

    Lol at the last entry. I still don’t like you that much though.

    • Riyoga says:

      Haters gonna hate.

      Though I actually don’t recall doing anything to win your malice. Not to mention I don’t know why you’re reading my posts if you don’t like me. Tsundere? I wouldn’t mind having a tsundere reader, now that I think about. That’s actually kind of awesome.


Leave a Reply

