Review: Bunny Drop

snap1

Anime: Bunny Drop (Usagi Drop)
Animation Studio: Production I.G
Number of Episodes: 11
Length per Episode: Approximately 24 minutes

This’ll be a pretty short, probably the shortest review this season, actually. Bunny Drop doesn’t exactly have a complicated plot or anything, so there isn’t much to say.


I’ve already said it about fifty times in various posts, but Bunny Drop is basically heartwarming show of the season that manages to avoid being boring. Just seeing the interactions between Rin and Daikichi as they learn how to live life together is interesting enough to keep you watching.

I suppose there’s always the possibility that some people won’t find this show fun to watch, but I’m usually like that with these kinds of shows and I loved the hell out of Bunny Drop. So I feel like that’s a good indication most people wouldn’t have trouble watching this show.

Rin is cute without being overly moe to the point of stupidity, and Daikichi is both amusing and heartwarming to watch as he learns to become a parent. That’s really all there is to it. It’s simple as that, but incredibly enjoyable.

I feel a bit biased giving the score I’m giving, but this show even made me stop playing games so I could watch each episode as it came out. If a show makes me want to watch it more than anything else, then it doesn’t feel right giving it any lower of a score.

RATING: 10 out of 10.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


6 Comments on “Review: Bunny Drop”

  1. TRazor says:

    Put simply, Usagi Drop makes you love life and makes you want to hold those close to you tightly.

    I wish it makes good DVD/BD sales so that other studios take the cue and make more “grown-up” anime.

    • Riyoga says:

      Yeah, that’s a nice, quick way of putting. Too bad nice and quick isn’t my style, haha.

      I don’t care about more “grown-up” shows being made, since they can still be boring as all hell. I just hope studios take the cue of how to make these kinds of slow and simple shows so damn enjoyable to watch.

  2. […] Riyoga’s Ramblings: Review: Bunny Drop […]

  3. […] Riyoga’s Ramblings: Review: Bunny Drop […]

  4. ashez2ashes says:

    It’s really too bad about what happened to the manga at the end. Egads. I feel bad that I had once recommended it to people…

    • Riyoga says:

      You know, the post my be backlogged just like all my other posts at this point, but I still very much intend to write a post about Bunny Drop’s manga ending.

      Part of me is curious to see what kind of reaction it’d get, because I rarely see anyone take the opposite side as far as the ending goes. It seems universally condemned.

      I mean, I don’t think it’s a great ending or anything, but I don’t agree with the amount of sheer hatred and disgust it gets at all.


Leave a Reply

