Review: Kamisama no Memochou

snap1

Anime: Kamisama no Memochou (God’s Memo Pad)
Animation Studio: J.C. Staff
Number of Episodes: 12
Length per Episode: Approximately 24 minutes

It’s strange; I don’t necessarily have more schoolwork this semester than any other times, but I just feel… busier. I feel like I don’t have enough time to do things I need to do, whether it be schoolwork, gaming, or writing these posts.

It’s probably because of my damn 7:30am class every day (except Friday, because fuck yeah college). It’s tiring to get up that early, so I’m tired by the time classes are over and I nap until night, then I don’t have much time until I need to sleep again because I need to get up early. It’s a vicious cycle. And don’t even get me started on when I pull all-nighters (I’m practically out for the next 36 hours).

…Oh wait this is review post. Err, lets get to that.


I’m still not entirely sure what to think of God’s Memo Pad (Dunno why I didn’t always stick with this name rather than the weaboo one, it sounds badass). On the one hand, I did enjoy watching all of the arcs play out, it had a good OP and ED, and the plot direction genuinely surprised me at times. The Renji arc is still my favorite, probably because he was the most interesting character in the show.

Alice was also a character that I liked more than I expected (even with that glorious, long, straight hair). She managed to be insightful without seeming really pretentious at all, which is a good thing. She knew she was no better nor worse than anyone else, just that she had talents others didn’t. The only problem was when they tried to use her relationship with Narumi for laughs. They should have kept the style of humor to her being nervous and not familiar with other people and the outside. Like the one joke where she showed up to baseball in the limo and when the door was opened her stuffed animals were practically bursting out and covered her.

So the show certainly did have its good points. But on the other hand, it had a fair share of faults.

It mainly suffers from the same problem that the Index and Railgun series do: it all seems pointless. Sure, events and character building happen, but after an arc is over, it’s almost like the script is tossed over the characters’ shoulders and they act like it never happened. They’re never mentioned again, and they all move on to the next arc.

In fact, God’s Memo Pad reminded me a lot of Index and Railgun in that sense. Sure, it was fun to watch it all play out, but it just seems like at the end everything is back to square one. That really sums up my thoughts on it in a nutshell, which means it makes sense to give it the same score I gave to both seasons of Index.

Watch it if you’re interested, but don’t expect any real plot progression besides the individual arcs themselves.

RATING: 8 out of 10.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.



Leave a Reply

