Review: Itsuka Tenma no Kuro Usagi

snap1

Anime: Itsuka Tenma no Kuro Usagi (A Dark Rabbit has Seven Lives)
Animation Studio: Zexcs
Number of Episodes: 12
Length per Episode: Approximately 24 minutes

This delay genuinely wasn’t my fault. The Internet went out so I couldn’t get on WordPress to type this up. I took a nap while I waited and now it’s 4:00am. And I have stuff to do tomorrow/later today. Sucks.

Due to this, this review has to be a quick one. But I doubt anyone will mind. I don’t think anyone other than me even watched this show anyways.


There are two glaring flaws I can name for Itsuka off the top of my head. Actually, there’s three, but one isn’t the shows fault. …Now that I think about it, two of them could actually be chalked up to Zexcs possibly. But there’s still one that can’t, so whatever, lets move on.

The first problem is Zexcs approach to the show. There’s an awful lot of fanservice. In the OP, the ED, every two minutes at least, it’s everywhere. Now, I don’t remember where I read it, but somebody said that the novels didn’t have any sign of fanservice at all. I mean, I know it’s kind of hard to see fanservice with a novel, but you can tell by the way the author wrote it what their intent was (I’d hope). So apparently what the deal is is that since the last show Zexcs did from this author, Legend of the Legendary Heroes (which had no fanservice), didn’t sell so well, they figured the solution was to add assloads of fanservice to try and increase sales. This is a retarded method of doing shows that could otherwise be really enjoyable. But if it works I can’t exactly blame the studio, now can I? I’M WATCHING YOU, JAPAN.

The second problem is that nothing is ever explained. Ever. Tons of random shit and plot devices happen, but they’re never explained or foreshadowed, so it just looks like they’re pulling stuff out of their ass. I’m tempted to blame Zexcs for this one too since Legend didn’t suffer from this problem and it’s the same author. Come on, guys, you can’t just have people travel interdimensionally and then expect us to know who the demon people are.

The last problem, and one I’m not sure is Zexcs fault or not, is that the main characters are completely uninteresting. I mean, Taito’s ability is cool, and Himea has nice character designer (DAT HAIR), but Taito is also a whiny brat and Himea becomes emo about Taito when he stops paying even the slightest bit of attention to her or someone else tells her she can’t be with him. Gekkou is your standard, gigantic prick, though he does have some pretty good dialogue at times. And Mirai is basically Pikachu, but fifty times more annoying (no, seriously, look at her in the picture).

All of the villains are infinitely more interesting, which is probably why I enjoyed the first two episodes, and portions of the second half. The first two episodes had monocle-wearing badass Hinata (Jun Fukuyama), and the second half had the mysterious, yet fabulously English aristocrat-dressed Yuuichi. Hinata is a psycho with immense power, which basically makes him automatically more interesting than the main characters, and Yuuichi is also immensely powerful, though his sanity is still intact… maybe. But Yuuichi doesn’t count as a good guy because he’s obviously working according to his own agenda. And I’m a sucker for god-like characters that don’t just solve everything on their own and would rather watch other people do it, while occasionally interfering. That may seem a bit specific, but there’s actually quite a few of those kinds of characters in stories. If you trace your childhood back, it pretty much started (at least for me) with the Cheshire Cat in Alice in Wonderland.

But, wrapping this up (because I spent way too long on this as it is), I still enjoyed watching Itsuka. Not most of the time, I’ll admit, but I still got through it. It helped that when I considered dropping it, Yuuichi showed up. But despite having it’s enjoyable parts, the show is still massively flawed in many areas.

Itsuka definitely could have been pretty good, but instead of Zexcs taking their directing a step forward after Legend, they took one back. And fell off a cliff.

RATING: 7 out of 10.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

