Review: Baka to Test to Shokanjuu Ni!

snap1

Anime: Baka to Test to Shokanjuu Ni!
Animation Studio: Silver Link
Number of Episodes: 13
Length per Episode: Approximately 24 minutes

My laptop has been throwing a hissy-fit lately. It says a bunch of RAM and CPU is being used up even when I don’t have any programs open. It’s making my laptop nearly overheat. Also, I may have injured my thumb and have a weird band-aid and tape combo being used on it like a mini-splint.

This just hasn’t been my week.


There isn’t much to say about the second season of Baka Test. Odds are if you watched this, then you watched the first season, and you should already know what it was about and why you like it. So instead of talking about why I like the show, I’ll just address a few other points.

It was interesting that this season decided to take a break from the constant comedy and gave backgrounds on the characters. I had actually forgotten that in the first season they had dismissed Hazuki’s background information by saying, “But we’ll get to that later.” Apparently “later” means “next season.” Makes you wonder if they knew they were going to do a second season or not.

Anyways, Hazuki, Minami, and Shouko and Yuuji all got background stories this season. They were pretty interesting, though there was a fatal flaw by doing so.

It disrupted the flow.

For a show that nearly never takes itself seriously and everything is a joke, taking so much time to give serious background stories is both a boon and a curse. While it’s always good to get more information for characters, a comedy show is about the comedy. It doesn’t really matter if the non-comedy stories are written well (which I’d say they are), because that’s not what you’re there for.

The only exception I’d give is for the Yuuji and Shouko background episode. First of all, because I liked how it played out. I’m actually still trying to figure out if there’s any meaning behind the coloring scheme that was used for when Yuuji was talking to his younger self. But the second and more important reason is because it gave a background for the jokes between Yuuji and Shouko. All of the jokes between them instantly became twice as funny once you understand the reason of why they started.

But yeah, that’s all I really have to say in regards to this second season. It was still as funny as the first season, but less often because they had to make room for the background stories. And while I’m grateful for those, I was there for the jokes.

RATING: 9 out of 10.

*Slideshow up eventually©*


2 Comments on “Review: Baka to Test to Shokanjuu Ni!”

  1. Marina says:

    I have to agree with you on flow, though I didn’t really consider it when I wrote my own final thoughts of the season. Too much time was spent on the various backgrounds, but like you, I also had my exceptions, particularly Minami’s. You were also much more gracious with your scoring than me, and I may have been so harsh since I went into this season with such high expectations. I was so, so, excited for the sequel, only to find a slew of chewed up old comedy.

    On a higher note, I’m re-watching Shana (season 1) and have the second season ready to follow :p

    • Riyoga says:

      Comedy is tough to argue for since it’s so subjective, but I wasn’t bothered by the repeated jokes. Heck, a lot of jokes within the first season were repeated, but they’re presented differently from each other enough that it never bothers me and I find it funny every time.

      FIRST EPISODE OF SHANA III AIRS TODAY!!! HURRY UP AND JOIN THE BANDWAGONNNNNNNN!!!!!!!


Leave a Reply

