Review: Kamisama Dolls

snap1

Anime: Kamisama Dolls
Animation Studio: Brains Base
Number of Episodes: 13
Length per Episode: Approximately 24 minutes

You know what I just realized? I bet eventually someone is going to stumble across these weekly Shana posts and get mad that it’s actually just a blank post for the time being. But as I said before, there’s not much I can do about the way I’m doing the posts without making a forum entirely, and that’s something I don’t have time to do.

Though that reminds me, I need to add a quick update to that post. Gimme a sec.


I’m still on the fence about Kamisama Dolls. I’ve said it multiple times, but the story is unpredictable. However, I can’t decide whether it’s due to good writing, being hard to follow, or being made up along the way. Or maybe it’s a combination of all of them.

Something that baffles me is that I still don’t feel like I really know anything about the characters. I don’t get their personalities, motivations, etc. I still have no idea what Aki wants to do, and I feel like I really am supposed to know by this point. Did I just black out when all of this stuff was explained? Was it all done in three seconds at one point when I wasn’t looking?

And that’s just the thing. I feel lost. I feel like I don’t get things that I should know by now. It’s like goddamn Calculus all over again. You know how when you don’t understand a subject really well, but nobody else is really having any problems, and you just feel hopeless and backed into a corner? That’s what Kamisama Dolls did to me.

But lets suppose we aren’t really supposed to know anything about the characters yet. After all, the ending basically had a, “Wait for season 2!” teaser kind of deal. But if that’s the case, then why in the hell haven’t they explained it? And why would it be considered a good show?

Before anyone jumps in and starts yelling, “What, you want everything handed to you on a silver platter,” there’s a big difference between having your viewers think for themselves, and making viewers do your work for you. There’s just nothing to go off of. Yeah, the main characters get this background story, but it doesn’t serve to explain anything other than how they ended up where they are now. It doesn’t say why they act the way they do.

Speaking of that backstory, what the fuck was that with the teacher? “YOU LOOK LIKE THIS KID MY ONE LOVER HAD THAT DIED. LETS FUCK.” Am I the only one that both spat out their drink in laughter and confusion at this? That was seriously one of the most retarded things I’d ever heard. Maybe it’s just another case of not getting it, but I personally think everyone else just happened to ignore it.

But I will give the show this: I did like the fights. Plus the scenes revolving around those fights between the characters was good, too. I just wish I knew more about why the characters were doing what they were doing. It seemed as if they just had the characters doing whatever was convenient for the plot at the time.

Basically, Kamisama Dolls ended up being eye-candy for me. It’s a shame, because there’s definitely a good opportunity for depth here, it just never seemed to come to fruition.

RATING: 7 out of 10.

*Slideshow up eventually©*



Leave a Reply

