Preview: Persona 4

snap1

I don’t really have anything to say for my little personal rant I usually do before posts. I guess I could mention my speech is tomorrow, and I still have to touch up my outline a bit. It shouldn’t take too long since I did most of the work already. After all, it was the assignment I was up all night working on for my class on Monday that ended up getting cancelled.

I could mention that I’m behind by one episode on nearly every show I’m watching this season (with a few exceptions). For some reason I have this nasty ability to make hours pass without actually doing anything. It’s impressive, but it’s killing me.

As everyone knows, Persona 4 is an adaptation of the video game with the same name. This is important to know, because the show practically oozes a video game vibe, and not necessarily in the good way.

The main character is a bland blob, since main characters in RPGs are made so that you can insert yourself into their shoes. This works fine for video games with someone you can actually control, but it doesn’t really work for a show.

Currently, the show is also following a really standard formula of giving all the main characters Personas. I’m willing to bet the side characters will be getting them too, so that’s about a fourth of the show dedicated to… nothing, essentially. I guess you could call it build up, but when you know what’s going to happen and how the episode is going to end, it kind of sucks the fun out of it.snap2

Speaking of the Personas, the show has been incredibly vague about them and how they work. Whether they’re operated as if the character is taking them over consciously or just mildly commanding them with their minds is anyone’s guess (unless you’ve played the game, I bet).

What’s also a bit baffling is that every character has been able to control their Persona right from the get-go as if they always knew how to do it. I was willing to look the other way for the main character, because, well, he’s the main character and it’s a video game adaptation. But as of the third episode, Yosuke also handled a Persona with no problem.

And, yet again speaking of Personas…snap3

Am I the only one who laughed at Chie’s Shadow pretty much being a KKK member with a smiley-face on its hood? Talk about brilliant character design.

Anyways, I’m hoping the anime will do something to distinguish itself, because as it is right now it’s just a blatant video game adaptation. I know fans get butthurt when there’s even the slightest change to source material, but there are storytelling mechanics that work in games but just do not work in anime.

2 Comments on “Preview: Persona 4”

  1. Ritsuioko23 says:

    Actually the side characters do not get personas except for one, but that would be a huge spoiler telling you who he is.


Leave a Reply

