Shakugan no Shana III (Final) – Episode 10

snap1

Sorry for the delay on this post, but hey, at least it wasn’t an entire week this time, right? It’s finals week, so I haven’t had time to write up any posts. In fact I’m taking a break from studying for my last final (which is tomorrow) in order to write this post up.

This would normally be the part where I say, “Well at least once finals are over, I’ll be back to normal posting schedule,” but that’d be complete bullshit. As any of you readers I’m sure have noticed, I take every moment I can to mention Star Wars: The Old Republic and how it’s so much fun to play. Well, assuming the servers don’t explode, I’ll be getting in to Early Access starting tomorrow. That means any hopes I had of catching up on all the shows I’m behind on are getting thrown out the window as I laugh maniacally.

No, my blogging will not come to a stop. If anything, my delayed posting schedule will just remain unchanged. Hey, the servers need to be brought down for maintenance occasionally, right? Plus, I don’t want to burn myself out too badly on the game, so I’ll be taking breaks here and there. It’ll be enough time to watch Shana and post on it, I’m sure. Though there’s no way I’ll be catching up on other shows I’ve only seen three episodes of, like Puzzles: The Show (Phi Brain, obviously).

There’s actually a significant lack of anything to mention for this episode. This is mainly due to the fact that everything that was important all happened within the last few minutes. I mean, sure, you’ve got Snake making it further into the Abyss, and a fight here or there, but plot-wise nothing important happened until the end.snap2

I couldn’t really keep a straight face during the start of the episode, though. Apparently the author started running out of ideas and just started giving powers to random animals. I mean, the one lion I was willing to give a pass because he had a nice outfit and such, but now we just have random animals with superpowers.

Before you think I’m bashing the show, though, think again. While normally I would be upset with a show for this, when the camel was introduced, I just started to crack up. In fact, I laughed so hard I had to pause the episode to regain myself. It’s hard for me to be upset about something that made me laugh so hard. Maybe I’m just being biased, but hey, if something makes me laugh, it’s not like I’m going to feel like my time is being wasted.snap3

Anyways, skipping to near the end, did anyone notice this scene? It looks kind of familiar… almost like we’ve seen this setting before…snap4

So how about that arrival of the Flame Haze army, eh? It already seemed like we had been on full throttle, but that’s not really the case. Now that the Flame Haze are here, we have a legitimate battle to be fought. The only party that we follow that isn’t here yet is Yuji’s/Snake’s, but I doubt they’ll be gone for too much longer.

Also, how about Sophie’s entrance? Never underestimate the old nuns.snap5

The only other big event that happened was Shana getting a power-up.

Now, I’m sure there will be (and probably already are) cries of “asspull” to be had, but I disagree. From the very first episode, Shana was training to get stronger, and even gained a specific ability (which these new moves all use). Plus, for some reason the idea of losing all your power for nearly a week (if not longer) and then being forced to get the feeling of it all back after being wiser from when you first gained it doesn’t seem all that farfetched to me.

If there’s anything to be mentioned that should be shunned, it was the incredibly shameless re-used animation during this fight. However, I’m yet again willing to give J.C. Staff the slide on this since we still have yet to even reach the big climactic battle(s), and we’ve already had quite a bit of action. Budgets can only go so far, right?


But yeah, that was it as far as important events of this episode. Despite the lack of them, I did enjoy this episode quite a bit. If anything because it was yet another hype-building episode, and I’ve already jumped on the hype train long ago and am enjoying every minute of it.

Plus this history book is giving me an evil look so I should probably stop writing and appease it before it devours me or something.


4 Comments on “Shakugan no Shana III (Final) – Episode 10”

  1. Nice post.

    Badass nuns and talking camels. What more do you want people?!?

    • Riyoga says:

      I actually thought the post was pretty short. But eh, length isn’t everything.

      Badass nuns is even more relevant with the latest episode, ain’t it?

  2. Whew! Just watched episode 11; the action and suspense comes thick and fast!

    • Riyoga says:

      >the action and suspense comes thick and fast

      According to the episode, so does Keisaku, IF YOU KNOW WHAT I MEAN.
      ( ゚∀゚)アハハ八八ノヽノヽノヽノ \ / \/ \


Leave a Reply

