One Year Anniversary and Other Celebratory Shenanigans

So I was going to do that season preview, but then I realized that this blog has actually reached the one-year mark… nine days ago.

Whoops.

I’m not sure whether this is a bad thing since I missed it, or a good thing because I’m not purely focused on reaching a goal line of sorts. But whatever, that’s besides the point. Lets hold a mini celebration, shall we? *starts gathering confetti*

Oh, and I know the site itself has been alive longer than a year, but Riyoga’s Ramblings in and of itself did not exist until January 8, 2011.

So I know I say this pretty much every time I make a post about reaching some achievement, but I figure it’s always good to say it as it’s true: I currently see no end to my blogging habits. This last season was incredibly slow for me due to Old Republic coming out, so I only continually watched about three shows, all of which are continuing into next season (except Fate/Zero, which is taking a season off), but next season should be better. Though by “better”, I simply mean “more posts that aren’t just Shana episodics”.

Still have no idea what I’m going to do about these shows I only got four episodes into, though. I might finish a few, but I think it’s a bit late to review them. Perhaps if they stand out to me I’ll review them, otherwise I won’t. I think I like that idea. And yes, I’ll try and get summer season review out on about Thursday. If I don’t manage that, it’ll be during the weekend, because I have plans for Friday.


Oh my, all this talk about about posting plans when I should be celebrating. Let me just relax for a second so I can stop feeling like I’m in work-mode.

I know! I’ll talk about a few other achievements this blog reached since I last did one of these kinds of posts!snap1

We actually hit 300 comments a while ago (remember, a little less than half the comments are me replying). This doesn’t feel like too big of a deal to me, though. I mean 100 and 200 were pretty big, but 300 just doesn’t have the same impact. I personally don’t think the next real big one is until 500.

I actually think a bigger achievement was found elsewhere on my dashboard.snap2

Yep, you’re seeing that correctly. Although it’s the lowest top search, the name “Riyoga” itself is still a top search. This is much more exciting for me, because it means I’m starting to really make a name for myself. Rather than the content, people are looking for me and what I have to say myself.

Or it could be my other friendly neighborhood bloggers getting to my page through a google search rather than a bookmark. Thanks for giving me hope, jerks (jk i luv u gaiz).


But besides all that stuff, this year felt like it passed pretty quickly. I don’t even feel like I’ve been blogging for an entire year (though that could be due to my recent lax schedule in comparison to how much I posted before). But regardless, I look forward to another year of blogging, and another year of talking to all of you readers and other bloggers!


P.S. This is off-topic, but I don’t want to make this a post of it’s own.

As some/most of you know, SOPA is currently circulating around the House and Senate, and is a major threat to the freedom the Internet gives. SOPA would wipe out fansubs, AMVs, even anime blogs themselves could be a target of this thing. So in protest, this blog will be participating in the blackout that’s happening tomorrow. From 8am to 8pm, this site will be replaced with a black page that provides information and a video about the harms SOPA can cause.

If you have a WordPress blog, I encourage you to participate in this. You can find the option in your dashboard under Settings —> Protest SOPA/PIPA.

As for other blogging sites, I’m not sure if you have this available to you, but I’d recommend taking a look.

Again, sorry for ruining the celebratory mood, but I just wanted to let you guys know ahead of time. Would have been kind of bad if a day after I celebrate my one-year anniversary, people show up to see a black page talking about SOPA, wondering what the hell was going on.

Anyways, that is all. Back to the celebrating!

8 Comments on “One Year Anniversary and Other Celebratory Shenanigans”

  1. glothelegend says:

    I wish I remember where I was at 1 year….Congratulations!

    • Riyoga says:

      Ah Glo, you may not remember it, but you were the very first comment on my blog. Waaaaay back in the day on my Shinryaku Ika Musume review.

      Anyways, I also look forward to reading your ISSS for yet another year and am eager to see your post once you finally marathon Shana. Which reminds me, I had the perfect comment to your post about Fate/Zero being better than Shana that I forgot to actually put. I think I’ll do so now.


Leave a Reply

