Preview: Inu x Boku SS

snap1

As to be expected, I was/am busier than expected. So only one post today, and I wouldn’t be surprised if this is short, either. Though I do have a few things circling in my head about what I want to say, so I guess it’ll really come down to how much I can say about everything.

So I decided to be an idiot and pre-ordered TERA. This basically lets me in to all of the closed beta tests, which is on the weekends, every other weekend, starting with this one. Not sure if it’ll hinder me getting a post or two out or not, but I’m considering waiting for the next episode of Shana and doing a double-episode post anyways. It’s pretty much five days late, so I may as well, right? Especially since I don’t have much to say for the latest episode. Then again, maybe that means I should just write it up real fast. Argh, I’m confusing myself. I’ll think about what I want to do.

I actually didn’t expect to enjoy this show as much as I am, considering I gave it a shot on a complete whim. I honestly think this show has some of the best characters I’ve seen in quite a while. It’s not really the individual characters that are fascinating though, it’s the interactions between all of them.snap2

For instance, we have our main character, Ririchiyo, who’s sort of a morphed version of a tsundere. She acts bold, arrogant, and condescending to pretty much everyone that she doesn’t know (and occasionally even to people she does) whenever they say something to her. Usually tsunderes are only the way they are for the love interest, hence the odd take on it. Not to mention, Ririchiyo doesn’t get violent in pretty much any way. Instead, she’s aware what she does is wrong, and gets depressed immediately after she does it pretty much every time.snap3

Then on the other side of the spectrum, we have Soushi, Ririchiyo’s SS (Secret Service) agent. He’s both cheerful and formal as hell, so even when Ririchiyo has her bad habit slip out, he isn’t just able to take it, he straight up twists it into something positive, and finds a way to praise her for being so kind. It’s like he can see her true nature, despite what she says.

This is the kind of thing I’m talking about though. All of the characters just bounce off each other so damn well, that the conversations are either interesting or hilarious.

Speaking of hilarious, this show has some great humor. As I said, the character interactions can be funny, but there are other moments that are also great. There’s one part where Ririchiyo has the standard heavy heartbeat that you hear when a character is in love, and as she’s sitting and wondering what it is as emotional piano music is playing, she thinks, “Could this be what they call… an irregular heartbeat?” as the piano music drains into nothingness. I nearly spat out my drink all over my screen.

I wouldn’t exactly say the show is a parody of shoujo or anything, especially since it does occasionally pander to its tropes, but it definitely takes an interesting twist on the genre and its quirks, and it’s definitely worth a watch.


P.S. Is it just me…snap4

…or is Mamoru Miyano turning into the new Jun Fukuyama? Not that I have a problem with it, I really like the guy, I’m just saying. The dude is everywhere.

8 Comments on “Preview: Inu x Boku SS”

  1. Kai says:

    I like this anime so far as well. The premise is a bit weird but it’s interesting to see how do they proceed from there.

  2. Ritsuioko23 says:

    Its like the Pandora Hearts of the Shoujo genre. Both change up the formula an make something awesome out of it instead of using cliches.

    • Riyoga says:

      That’s a really good way of putting it; Pandora Hearts also had extremely strong characters. It’s a shame we probably won’t get another season of it.

      • Ritsuioko23 says:

        You should read the manga. It’s still going on. And PH did use a fee cliches but they didn’t annoy me one bit. Also can you check out my novel?

        • Riyoga says:

          I’ve meant to start reading the manga a ton of times, but I always think of something else I need to do when I want to start. I’ll get around to it eventually, though.

          Oh, you added more to your novel? I checked it out last time you posted about it, which was quite a while ago, so I guess it’s only natural you’ve written more since then.

  3. Ritsuioko23 says:

    Actually I haven’t lol I’ve been grounded for a while… Didn’t know you checked it out though! You should review it!

    • Riyoga says:

      I would, but since this is an anime blog, and have submitted myself to places saying that I am such, I’m pretty much restricted on writing solely about anime-related stuff, except for the leeway on the occasional post where I can write about myself or give an update or whatever.

      However, I can paste my reply to your comment from back when you first asked me to read it.

      “Just finished reading what you had up. You’re a good writer! I don’t like when stories have too much detail in them to the point of dragging on, but I also don’t like no details at all, and I feel like you hit the perfect middle-ground. Curious to see how you tie all of that foreshadowing together, too.”


Leave a Reply

