Review: Listen to Me Girls, I Am Your Father!

snap1

Anime: Listen to Me Girls, I Am Your Father! (Papa no Iukoto wo Kikinasai!)
Animation Studio: Feel
Number of Episodes: 12
Length per Episode: Approximately 24 minutes

Well, after a glorious surge of BSODs on my laptop, I have yet another reason to prefer typing posts on my desktop. I think I finally fixed the problem though; I rolled my display driver back a version and so far everything seems fine. I guess the new driver wasn’t playing nice with some other program. Or it could have been the driver itself, but I’d like to hope the companies aren’t that incompetent.

At least now I can work on this review for that show that nobody watched, thank god.

Because of that, this review probably won’t even be that long. I tend to write longer reviews for shows that are more popular or I have some kind of emotional investment in, because I like to cover as much as I can the more people I know that are going to read it. If it’s a show nobody watched, then a long review just feels like verbal masturbation to me. The exception, as I said, is when I feel strongly about it a show, because then I want to hear myself talk about the show endlessly.


So, first thing’s first.

Is this show paedophiliac? No.

Is this a show to remember for seasons to come? No.

Is it a good show? Yes.

I feel like the bar gets raised unfairly for shows that are deemed to be trash, though it seems to be an unconscious action. First, it needs to prove that it isn’t trash, but then if it does that, it feels like it also needs to do something special in order to prove itself. Then again, now that I think about it, this is the case for most shows. If a show doesn’t do something to stand above the crowd, it’s not worth your time.

I’m someone that doesn’t mind mingling with the crowd, though. For example, most people don’t want to watch your standard action-adventure plot multiple times, while I don’t mind doing it nearly endlessly. Maybe it’s just because I can see the differences in nearly any show, no matter how similar a synopsis, but I like the standard action-adventure tale. The first time I saw it, I enjoyed it, and just because another show does a similar shtick doesn’t mean I suddenly dislike it. If I like a certain plot structure, then I’m even going to seek out shows with similar synopses.

Perhaps I’m getting a bit off-topic, though. What I was trying to lead into was that this show doesn’t do anything to raise itself above the bar, but that’s perfectly okay. What it has is perfectly acceptable.

What would probably turn off some people from the show is that the first few episodes do feature underwear and bath scenes. The thing is, the way they’re used kind of work. Yuuta just became a parental guardian, and he doesn’t know crap, so odds are at first he’d mess up and cause some awkward situations. Yeah, some of the bath scenes are just for the sake of bath scenes, but they don’t seem to really be fanservice. The tub takes up most of the shot, since the camera angle is usually the side of the tub at ground level. For the most part, all you’ll see are heads.

The further into the show you get, the less these kinds of scenes happen, which is both a good thing and a bad thing. It’s good, because it deals with more serious themes and messages and such, but it’s bad because switching between comedic and serious doesn’t always work. This is one of the shows where it doesn’t. An example of a show I think mixed the two together well would be Seitokai no Ichizon, but that may be because it had a clearly split comedic first half and serious second half for pretty much each episode.

There isn’t much else to say, though. The show is pretty much your standard fare with nothing too special about it. It did occasionally have some pretty great episodes, but the disconnect between the comedy and the seriousness makes it hard to recommend. However, I did think the last episode showed the perfect mix between light-heartedness and seriousness.

It’s a decently enjoyable watch. Give it a go if you’re bored, or if you feel like seeing Hina be an adorable 3-year-old.

RATING: 8 out of 10.



Leave a Reply

