Review: Inu x Boku SS

snap1

Anime: Inu x Boku SS
Animation Studio: David Production
Number of Episodes: 12
Length per Episode: Approximately 24 minutes

I couldn’t join with any of the cool kids doing April Fools’ jokes today because I couldn’t think of any good ones. I had some vague ideas, but they were pretty dumb, so nothing came to fruition. Instead, I’m going to live with the shame of not having been able to do one, which will motivate me to think about a good one for next year.

Yes, I just turned not doing an April Fools’ joke into some ass-backwards, extra motivation to continue blogging for another year.


My opinion of the show hasn’t changed much from my preview or mid-season impressions, though I suppose it’s more concrete. The show’s character interactions are really funny, along with the times it makes fun of shoujo tropes, but the show occasionally panders to those same tropes.

I like it when a show does character-based humor rather than having the characters tell jokes. By doing it the way Inu x Boku SS does, each character has a very distinct personality that’s usually extreme in one characteristic, rather than the characters just being normal with occasionally witty (or not so witty) remarks.
And yes, I know I’ve said many, many times before that comedy is something that can’t really be argued for since everyone has their own sense of humor, but I felt like explaining why I greatly enjoyed this show’s style of comedy as opposed to other kinds.

There’s a reason I’m being a broken record and mentioning the character interactions whenever I talk about this show: they’re really damn good. I think I liked every single character the more I got to see them. It helps that the show knows how to use each character’s personality so that they’re used most efficiently. My favorite example is when Miketsukami is asked if Ririchiyo is a cat or a dog person, and after saying that she’s both, he explains why, but then as he continues he just starts detailing every single thing she likes and dislikes to extreme detail. While this is going on, the camera pans so that we can see the other characters look surprised; except for Nobara, who is furiously writing down everything he says.
There are multiple times that she show does stuff like this. It’s small, but it’s also hilarious and excellent use of characters. Not to mention, the characters don’t do the “oh hey what you’re doing is weird yet funny and I’m drawing unnecessary attention by to it by saying this out loud as if me saying this is the actual joke” deal that some comedies are guilty of doing, with one or two exceptions.

This show made me laugh pretty damn hard on multiple occasions, something I rarely do nowadays. Most of the time I just chuckle to myself or don’t say anything even if I think something is funny, but I couldn’t contain my laughter when it came to this show.

The one major flaw that prevents me from giving the show the highest score I can, despite how funny it was, is because of the ultra-shoujo aspects of the ending. It could have just done the romance aspect in a decently normal way, but instead they went for the dramatic fashion, and it hurt the show. I mean, when Miketsukami was holding Ririchiyo, her feet weren’t even touching the ground. They could have joked about that, but instead he proceeds to hold her like a child as he goes in for the kiss. I admit, that kind of creeped me out. Maybe they were actually making fun of shoujo again, but it seemed to be played too straight for that the case.
I almost want to forgive the ending, because the part where Ririchiyo went into Miketsukami’s room made me fall out of my chair, but that playground scene just left a bad taste in my mouth.

Give the show a go if you want some great laughs. The shoujo-pandering can be jarring, unless you don’t really mind shoujo, but I don’t think it works for the show, regardless. If you’re willing to forgive those moments, Inu x Boku SS is a great watch.

RATING: 9 out of 10.


4 Comments on “Review: Inu x Boku SS”

  1. feal87 says:

    Can I take Ririchiyo and Karuta home? Can I? Can I? :P

  2. Kai says:

    “Miketsukami was holding Ririchiyo, her feet weren’t even touching the ground. They could have joked about that, but instead he proceeds to hold her like a child as he goes in for the kiss.”

    Miketsukami is a roricon!
    Uhh wait no. On a serious note, their height differences are just too wide. Miketsukami is nearly 190cm tall and Ririchiyo is barely 150, Even if she tip-toes, she won’t even reach his lips, lol~ :inserts trollface:

    On another note, I find it interesting how we wrote Inu X Boku review on the same April’s Fools day :D I also couldn’t think of any jokes to write about and just settled with a review.

    • Riyoga says:

      I just wish they hadn’t taken the scene so seriously. If it had had a touch of humor to it, it would have been a lot better. Or at the least they could have not had him hold Ririchiyo with his arm acting as a chair for her, the way you hold kids. Seriously, that was creepy.

      Well if I recall the show was subbed either April Fool’s Day or the day before, so I was just trying to get it out quickly, like a good little blogger.


Leave a Reply

