Sneak Peek: Accel World, Gakkatsu, Mysterious Girlfriend X, Tasogare Otome x Amnesia

Time for the next chunk of sneak peeks. An interesting assortment this time around, though I suppose I could use that line for pretty much any one of these and you guys would be none the wiser. Well, except that I just said that. Oops.

I need to find some sort of system to make sure I go to sleep at a decent time (or at all), because my sleep schedule just gets absolutely pulverized way too often. I’m almost at the point where my day and night cycles are reversed from that of a normal person’s. Yes, it is that bad.

But enough of my whining, lets get to stuff you guys actually care about.

snap1

Accel World

I was actually surprised at the amount of backlash this show got. I mean, there are some people that enjoyed it quite a bit, but those who didn’t had practically nothing positive to say.

Being the fantastically brilliant individual I am, I actually quite enjoyed the first episode. Yes, the main character is pretty flawed, but I don’t know where the idea that we’re supposed to be sympathetic towards him came from. I suppose the scenes that people interpreted that way were the scenes that I figured were just trying to open the door to the guy’s head. He’s flawed, but he certainly isn’t irrational.

As for the lovely student vice president, Kuroyukihime, I don’t buy her being wish fulfillment. All she’s really done so far is manipulate the lead into doing exactly what she wants.

She beat the guy’s score in the game in order to crush his utopia, so that he’d have no choice but to listen to her summons.
She convinced him to download the Brain Burst program, and even admitted to having a backup to convince him to do it if Plan A failed.
She knew that punching the bully was the short-term, self-fulfilling route, and dodging the punch was the least painful one. She still convinced him to do a plan that hurt him and her, but did the most damage to the bully.

This chick’s name isn’t a play off Snow White for nothing (her name translates to Snow Black). She’s drawing the little piggy in not to love him and give him fulfillment, but to use him.

Anyways, point is, I was decently impressed with the character setup the show did. I’m hoping they’ll actually make use of it, and not degenerate the show into something stupid.snap2

Gakkatsu

As expected, this show was completely absurd, but occasionally and momentarily brilliant. It’s only a 4-5 minute flash short, but there was the occasional sentence that truly did make you think.

Admittedly, the first episode had an incredibly random topic, so I’m curious to see what they do with future topics. No idea if they’ll be just as random or if the topics themselves will get philosophical and whatnot.

Regardless, if the show can keep this up, I hardly have anything to complain about. I wasn’t lying in my preview for this season that this show was going to be one of the best. Although I’m probably the only person who thinks so, if only because I’m the only one watching it.snap3

Mysterious Girlfriend X

As expected, this show was weird as shit. Or perhaps I should say, weird as drool. Ohohoho I’m so clever!

But yeah, the show is weird. I already knew since I checked out the first chapter of the manga beforehand, but it doesn’t change the fact. I did like the dream sequences though, even if I have no bloody clue what they’re supposed to mean.

The only thing that confuses me is that if this was created to show teens they could have an exciting relationship without sex, then what’s with the sexual euphemism? There’s a scene near the end where Urabe gets happy, and her… fluids start flowing. If you know what I mean.

If it’s supposed to be dissuading sexual activity, why have scenes that can be taken as double entendres?

Whatever the case, I’ll be watching more. The show may be weird, but that’s what makes it so endearing.

snap4

Tasogare Otome x Amnesia

I feel like I should be on the fence with this show, but oddly, I’m not. The little trick they did of repeating a third of the episode was neat, and was cool to see what Yuuko was actually doing when we only had a limited view the first time, but it was also padding. Seeing as I enjoyed the first episode, I guess I swayed more towards the former than the latter.

Something I also found mysteriously appealing was the sexual tension between Yuuko and Teiichi. I don’t know why I enjoyed it so much, but I just thought it was well done. It was very clearly there, but it didn’t go overboard to the point of fanservice. Then again, I’m not sure if that scene was censored, or if it really was supposed to be that dark since they were in that service elevator thing.

Well anyways, point is the episode was strangely appealing, so I’m hoping the show can continue to be.


4 Comments on “Sneak Peek: Accel World, Gakkatsu, Mysterious Girlfriend X, Tasogare Otome x Amnesia”

  1. glothelegend says:

    Mysterious Girlf-

    I’m not even going to finish my sentence you should already know how I feel.

    • Riyoga says:

      Yeah, and if reading what you had to say wasn’t enough, seeing you comment on nearly every site that has posted about the show definitely confirmed your opinion, haha.

  2. Kat says:

    “I was decently impressed with the character setup the show did. I’m hoping they’ll actually make use of it, and not degenerate the show into something stupid.” I have the same feelings about Accel World. They really need to do something interesting (character development, plot twists, etc.), or else people are definitely going to be dropping this show.

    A also really enjoyed the first episode of Tasogare; especially the part where they rewind and Yuuko is shown playing all of her hijinx on Momoe. I’ve heard from several sources, though, that in the manga this just turns into one big fanservice-type show, so hopefully the anime strays away from that.

    • Riyoga says:

      Unfortunately, a lot of people already dropped Accel World due to the misinterpretations I mentioned. It’s their loss if it turns out to be really good, but I suppose it’s ours if it does turn to crap.

      That’s kind of alarming, but I think I heard that the manga also didn’t do this rewind that the show did. If the staff are willing to take liberties like that, we may be safe.


Leave a Reply

