Summer 2012 Impressions and Readers’ Pick of the Season Voting

Oh my, already time for the new season? But I’m not even caught up on the last one! I am getting pretty close, though.

So this is coming out pretty late, considering stuff starts airing tomorrow (except for Kingdom, but pretty much nobody is watching that anyways). But hey, at least it means I get to use the most up-to-date chart, right?

Also, I’m making an actual deadline for Readers’ Pick voting this time around. The poll will close on July 5th at 5:00pm PST, so get your vote in before then! Or if you’re Game, sabotage the poll again before then.

chart1

Not too hefty of a chart to go through for once, thank god. But there’s still quite a bit, so lets get started.


Pokémon Best Wishes! Season 2

It’s a crime against humanity that this show isn’t on the chart. I did see another chart floating around that had it, but I’m too lazy to look for it, and I’d rather just confuse everyone by writing about it even though it’s not on this one.

I’ve already written a post about how Best Wishes is awesome, and the second season will be even better. I’ve also started my post explaining why Dawn (and therefore this new season) is amazing. This show will be pretty much guaranteed to top my Anime Power Rankings ballot every week, and it should be on yours, too.


Kingdom

The synopsis doesn’t actually sound that bad, although I don’t tend to care for stories involving Chinese history. I’m still passing it up though because I’m too lazy to catch up on it.


Rinne no Lagrange 2

Didn’t watch the first season of this, so I have no reason to watch the sequel.


TARI TARI

A tale of growing up, the issues faced along the way, and music bringing people together.

Sounds lovely and heartwarming, but I don’t see anything unique here to appeal to me. This was pretty much the same case with Hanasaku Iroha, which was done by the same studio.


La storia della Arcana Famiglia

It is with absolutely no shame at all that I say that I’m quite looking forward to this show. Yes, it’s an otome game adaptation, but it’s a battle tournament! While I think fujoshi have very strange taste in men, they have excellent taste when it comes to fighting and violence.


Jinrui wa Suitai Shimashita

Probably the most unique plot in the summer lineup, this is a guaranteed watch. Whether it’s actually interesting or not is a completely different story. Only time shall tell.


Chitose Get You!!

While my initial reaction was, “oh god not another pedobait show; oh sweet mother of Zeus it’s even a 4-koma adaptation”, this is being done by Silver Link. I am massively biased when it comes to them, especially when it comes to comedies, because Baka Test is hilarious. All the jokes were probably written in the source material to begin with, but who cares! I’ll give anything Silver Link does a shot.


Muv-Luv Alternative: Total Eclipse

Apparently this is awesome and every VN fan in existence is looking forward to this. Guess I should watch to see what the hype is about. Either that or I’ll get to watch tons of people cry about how it butchers the source material. Either outcome sounds fun.


Chouyaku Hyakunin Isshu: Uta Koi

I don’t know why, but I just don’t like shows with a classical setting in any kind of form. First Kingdom, now this. I guess I’m just too into modern stuff to enjoy watching stuff in older settings.


Yurumates 3D S2

Sequel to something I didn’t watch.


Yuru Yuri ♪♪

More sequels to stuff I didn’t watch.


Binbou-gami ga!

I normally skip on shows that look like they’re going to be absurd comedies, but eh, for some reason I feel like giving this show a go. If it turns out to be a bad decision, I can always hit myself later.


Moyashimon Returns

I haven’t watched the first season, and I like watching stuff in sequential order, so this’ll be another pass.

And before anyone flips out that I haven’t seen the first season, don’t kid yourself. Moyashimon never got a ton of recognition or popularity, and most people are only hearing about it now because of this sequel. I bet you half the people pretending to be hyped for the show haven’t actually seen it and are just pretending they have while they’re in the process of acquiring it.


Natsuyuki Rendezvous

The other noitaminA show that isn’t a sequel. That’s pretty much the same thing as saying I’m guaranteed to watch it.


Koi to Senkyo to Chocolate

I’m conflicted on this one. On the one hand, the synopsis sounds like it’s another K-ON “we don’t do anything at all the whole season” kind of things, but it also sounds like it could be a genuinely good romance story. Who knows? Well, I guess I will, because I want to know which one it is.


Kono Naka ni Hitori, Imouto ga Iru!

Okay, lets get one thing out of the way: there’s a 99% chance that this is yet another pedo “onii-chan no pantsu!” show, whose only merit will be that you get to play detective to try and figure out which one is the sister (hint: ten dollars says it’ll be the twin-tailed one).

However, I will always, always be silly and give these shows a chance, because goddamnit I know one day we’ll get one that actually tactfully handles taboo topics into a heartbreaking or heartwarming story of how love is a strong enough force to clash and possibly conquer societal barriers and how you can’t let other people tell you what’s allowed to make you happy or not!

…I’m already preparing my loud, drawn-out sigh for when I’m denied this in favor of panty shots yet again.


Joshiraku

This sounds like a show about rambling, and may even cover interesting topics. I’m totally game. Maybe this can even become my flagship show.


Hagure Yuusha no Estetica

…So basically this is a show that starts after the conflict and climax and such has already happened? Sounds like absolutely genius storytelling.

And by genius, I mean stupid and boring.


Dakara Boku wa, H ga Dekinai

I can’t tell if this plot synopsis is retarded, or ridiculously hilarious. Considering the promo art, I’m guessing the first one.

Though I have heard that this series is actually pretty funny. But then again, people said the same thing about Acchi Kocchi. Screw Acchi Kocchi.


Campione!

The synopsis straight up tells you it’s an harem love comedy, but the setting sounds so awesome that I don’t even care. Hey, if the main character is as badass as he sounds, at least we’ll have the first harem in history where it makes sense for multiple women to be swooning over him.


Tanken Driland

That promo art actually looks pretty cool, but the synopsis itself doesn’t sound all that special. At least Campione! has the MC killing wayward gods; this one just sounds incredibly dull.


Dog Days’

Ladies and gentlemen, I present to you the only person in the universe who didn’t immediately despise the hell out of Dog Days, me!

My only real complaint with the prequel was that it had a terrible sense of pacing, so there was absolutely nothing happening for a third of the show. Like how they took care of the main antagonist on about the ninth episode, so there were three episodes of fluff for an ending. I have no idea if this season will have better pacing, but I’m willing to give it a chance.


Sword Art Online

Blah blah blah .hack clone, blah blah blah. Who cares? It’s an interesting plot setup. That’s really all that matters.


Kokoro Connect

Silver Link again, and it’s another comedy! Bring it on.


Kyoukai Senjou no Horizon II

Didn’t watch the first season.


Oda Nobuna no Yabou

Yet another Sengoku era show. Seriously, what is anime’s fascination with this time period? Does anyone even care for these shows anymore?


Hakuouki Reimeiroku

Yet another sequel. Yes, I know it’s a prequel, but it’s coming after the others, so it counts as a sequel.


Ebiten

I’m far too lazy to type the whole title out.

Anyways, what the hell is with people calling the character design ugly? It looks different from others, as is the case with every character designer, but I don’t see how it can be considered “ugly” at all. Anyways, this looks like it could actually be a pretty funny comedy, so I’ll give it a go.


And now for voting. Remember, the poll closes at July 5th at 5:00pm PST.


6 Comments on “Summer 2012 Impressions and Readers’ Pick of the Season Voting”

  1. Of course I’m the reader who just has to like Moyashimon. I will of course watch the other noitaminA show as well. Maybe Kokoro Connect, maybe but probably not.

    • Riyoga says:

      The best shows this season will be Joshiraku and the otome game one. Calling it now.

      • Marina says:

        I’m calling your loss, as Moyashimon Returns is an obvious runner for best show for the summer >< I loved the first season and the drama! I agree, though, that the majority of people seem to not know about it at all. I didn't see a single official booth at AX with Moyashimon goods, only finding my plush at one stall in the Artist Alley.

        • Riyoga says:

          I’ll eventually watch the first and second season of Moyashimon, but I need to actually catch up on currently airing stuff before I go back to watching older shows.

          But in the otome game show the MC has a PET OWL. Come on, that’s badass! Totally a contender for best show of the season.

  2. Game8910 says:

    Honestly I would only pick either Yuru Yuri or Horizon II from that poll since they are the best choices there imo. However both are sequels and Horizon is well known for not being the easiest show to follow (required some extra reading and info grabbing to fully grasp the situation) but once you get into the world I found it to be really REALLY impressive.
    Yuru Yuri on the other hand is pure slice of life comedy goodness and its surprisingly VERY funny too. Based on that I could say that Yuru Yuri would be the easiest to follow and I guess I’ll vote for it (but yeah, S1 would be nice to watch too).

    • Riyoga says:

      But isn’t me being confused part of the enjoyment? Writing posts about being confused is actually pretty fun, too.

      Vote for whatever you want, because I’ll actually be keeping up the weekly coverage this time (and I swear I’ll be caught up on Saki within the week and will make a post).


Leave a Reply

