Review: Ozuma

snap1

Anime: Ozuma
Animation Studios: Gonzo & LandQ studios
Number of Episodes: 6
Length per Episode: Approximately 24 minutes

I figured I’d get one more post out to make up for not posting the last few days. Plus, it’s nice to be able to cross out more than one post on my backlog list.

Anyways, before I start rambling about unrelated stuff, let’s get to actually reviewing this show.


A quick way to sum up Ozuma is that it’s formulaic. Main character goes out on his own, finds mysterious girl, bad people want mysterious girl, mysterious girl decides to go back on her own for silly reasons, good guys go after bad guys to get mysterious girl back, mysterious girl does some fantastical thing that only she is capable of, etc. Heck, they even had a Heroic Return moment with an iconic character showing up and sacrificing himself, although there was a slight twist to it.

But see, here’s the thing: formulaic doesn’t automatically equate to being bad. If anything, it gives it a neutral starting point with the chance of becoming good if it’s handled well. There’s a reason that the formula exists in the first place, after all. It’s been shown to work, and it’s loose enough for it to be used very well, or very badly. I’d say with a decent amount of confidence that Ozuma is an example of the former.

Well, most of the time, at least.

There’s obviously some things the show didn’t handle quite so well, one of the most glaringly obvious being the character designs. Though it’s hard to say whether the actual designs themselves are bad or not, the problem is that everything else in the show is absolutely gorgeous. By going for old character design aesthetics, pretty much everything else in the show makes them look ugly in comparison. They just don’t mesh well, and the show should have gone full old-school with everything, or used more modern-looking character designs.

Another problem the show had (and a good example of how to not use the formula well) was the sad excuse of a relationship between Sam and Maya. There was absolutely no chemistry between them, so when Sam went nuts and wanted to save her, it just made him look like an idiot. It also completely destroyed any possibility of tension with the end scene where Maya leaves.

Though oddly enough it seemed like the show was aware of how badly the relationship was handled, because boy does Sam get over her pretty damn quickly. “No! The girl I’ve been crazy for the last few episodes left us to hopefully make the future better! …Oh well, it was fun while it lasted.”

A far more minor complaint was that they named Sam’s brother Dick. I mean, I’m not trying to be immature, but every time a character longingly cried out “Dick!” I couldn’t help but laugh. I can usually understand when the story is based off some true story, because then it was an actual person that had the name, but in a fictional story I just cannot fathom why anyone would name a character ‘Dick’. Especially when it’s someone who gets cried for repeatedly.

But honestly, despite those problems and a few other minor ones, I enjoyed the adventure that Ozuma gave. With only six episodes, it never really had any down time, so it was pretty much always engaging, and the journey itself was just fun.

So Ozuma was a pretty standard adventure story, but there’s really nothing wrong with that. If you’re willing to forgive a few stumbles here and there, it’s a decently entertaining 6-episode ride.

RATING: 8 out of 10.


8 Comments on “Review: Ozuma”

  1. Marina says:

    The character designs really are a question of the viewers’ aesthetics, as you aptly put it. Like you, I was a bit off put by what I deemed as ugly facial designs. The elongated faces, snubby noses, and overly exaggerated eye lashes screamed, “NO!” But after a couple episodes, they got to me and I started to actually kind of like them. They’re not the typical run-of-the-mill character designs other anime re-use, and I’m glad Ozuma wasn’t full of no-nose characters that are abundant elsewhere.

    • Riyoga says:

      I actually didn’t mind the designs too much, but like I said, the backgrounds just kind of made it feel weird for me to look at them.

      Then again I’m pretty lenient when it comes to character design because I’m not much of an artsy person (as the banner I made pretty aptly shows). I don’t even mind the no-nose design for the most part.

  2. Ritsuioko23 says:

    You’re a really bad reviewer… I’m still butthurt…

    • Riyoga says:

      There’s lotion for that.

      • Ritsuioko23 says:

        Haha nice… Idk I just don’t think you give a lot of anime what it deserves. Like BRS that was good.

        • Riyoga says:

          Opinions will always be opinions. Even if you don’t agree with what someone says, you can at least hopefully see where they’re coming from.

          Though I’m not alone on my opinion of BRS. Most other bloggers thought it was stupid but had gorgeous fight scenes.

  3. animekritik says:

    Interesting review. Good luck in your match~


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.