Readers’ Pick: Moyashimon Returns – Episode 2

snap1

Holy shit, I’m actually writing a new post? And it’s a Readers’ Pick one? Clearly, the end is nigh.

In all seriousness, I actually am sorry that I’m so behind on these. I didn’t want to make the same mistake I did with the Saki ones, but I did anyways. Damn I suck.

My plan is to release at least one of these a day starting today until I’m caught up. I was initially thinking one a day would be too much for my lazy ass, but seeing how little I have to say for this episode, it may be more easily accomplished than expected. In fact, seeing how short this post will probably be, I was planning to post another today. However, I may be writing up a post on a completely different topic instead. Who knows?

So a grand total of nothing happened this episode.

Well, actually, that’s not completely true. There was more talk about oils, alcohols, agriculture, and other various things that I don’t care about. Of course, this kind of stuff seems to be what makes Moyashimon… well, Moyashimon. I can’t really fault the show for that, since it’s due to my own mindset, but it makes me wonder if anyone actually watches the show for these science lessons. If any of you do, why? Aren’t you supposed to watch shows for entertainment? Unless you find learning to be entertaining, in which case there’s something seriously wrong with you I envy you.
snap2

This scene was pretty funny though. Yeah, it was a normal “oh god lets go peep at women in the bath” kind of deal, but the sheer number of them and the weird bed sheet mask things they wore made it a shitload funnier than the standard variation.

Looking back on it, I also find it hilarious that the scene also advanced the sole shred of plot the show has. Though I am confused about the whole dungeon thing. Why did Hazuki suspect there of being some hidden dungeon in the first place? Was this something carrying over from the previous season? And why doesn’t Tadayasu just freaking tell her about being able to see microbes? Is it that big of a deal? Is this also something carrying over from the first season?

So many questions, so many episodes to go.


7 Comments on “Readers’ Pick: Moyashimon Returns – Episode 2”

  1. Dragonymos says:

    Well I have no clue about this show. Well…I do seem to be reminded of a blog.

    Now learning and being entertained I just recently experienced. I read The Lives of Eccentrics by Hirohiko Araki (Jojo’s Bizarre Adventure). Was a real entertaining read, especially the ones I wasn’t familiar with.

    • Riyoga says:

      Ooh, something from the guy behind Jojo’s Bizarre Adventure? Did you watch the old OVAs and/or are you planning to watch the version of the show they’re making in this fall?

  2. Harder, Better, Faster, Stronger…

    Come on Riyoga, can’t have good discussion if you’re 3 episodes behind now can I?

    • Riyoga says:

      The plan is at least one post a day until I catch up! I could have just watched them all and done some kind of compilation post, but I felt like I owed it to you guys to actually go through each episode.

  3. Dragonymos says:

    I’ve read every single manga of Araki’s I could find. I’m on a limited phone so I haven’t gotten to see the OVA’s yet. I have watched JJBA:TAS (The Abridged Version) by Antfish that I’d highly recommend even if you aren’t a fan. And just in case you haven’t noticed I’m definitely planning on watching the anime. Hell I wish I could get the JoJo cellphone. It’s the first thing that made me truly understand what a fan girl feels.

    So the question is…Are you a fan?

    • Riyoga says:

      Despite only seeing chunks of JJBA, I really like the series. I’m not normally one for random or absurd comedy, but there’s something extremely endearing about JJBA that I can’t put my finger on.

      I’m hoping since the upcoming TV show will be the first one I’ll see the entirety of, it’ll help me figure out that very reason.

  4. Dragonymos says:

    Seems like the upcoming anime will really determine your thoughts. It’ll be interesting because JoJo varies a lot from series to series. The latest one is kind of a JoJo mystery.


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.